Disenchanted’s Enchanting Book Review

Disenchanted by Leigh Goff



Heroine: Sophie Goodchild
Hero:  Alexavier Mather


Where: Wethersfield, Connecticut


Sixteen-year-old Sophie is half-witch and half-ordinary and wholly fits in no where. She is struggling to discover who she is while attempting to present only the version of herself she wants others to see.


In the midst of her struggle, a battle rages between good and evil. Unfortunately for Sophie, the lines aren’t quite as clear between the two sides as others believe they should be.


The Mathers have been locking witches away and even killing them for years. Can she keep herself from falling in love with one of Judge Mather’s sons? Can Alexavier Mather protect both of them from the curse that one of Sophie’s ancestors placed on his family?


Throughout the book Sophie struggles to balance family relationships, friendships, dating relationships, coven relationships, and appearances of relationships for those trying to bring harm to her. She tries to master the skills to become a herbalist and tries to control the skills of spellcasting that are already within her.


Sophie discovers that everyone in her life is different and gifted in some way. Even the people she thought were Ordinaries.


A story that starts out feeling a lot like a mystery with some romance thrown in, winds up feeling more like a book about the battle between good and evil. Characters are forced to choose between doing what’s right because it’s what everyone wants you to do, because it’s easiest, or because you have decided to risk your own life to save the lives of others. Characters have to choose whether to sacrifice or steal.


While Sophie’s character is well-developed, the hero, Alexavier, is not as developed. His “criminal” past is never fully explained to the point that the reader finds worth in it’s inclusion. The “curse” placed on his family doesn’t drive the plot enough to make it as mysterious as it seems throughout the text. When I discovered what the big secret was, I was really disappointed. There was no secret.


After the heroine puts so much on the line to heal the past and the present, she gets no happily-ever-after at all in the end. Her personal past isn’t healed, but everyone else’s is. Her present that was looking up, is now completely undone.


While I would absolutely recommend this book to my middle school and high school students, I do think it was lacking a little depth in the hero and secondary characters.


I also desperately hope there is a sequel coming so that Sophie can have some kind of HEA. I felt so sorry for her at the end of this book. I guess it just felt a little too much like real life for me. I wanted everything to work out.

If you enjoy fiction, fantasy romance, witches, historical fiction, debut novels, YA novels, books about good vs evil, or simply trying something new, then this book is for you!


Welcome to the Month Long Virtual Book Tour 

for Disenchanted, the recently released YA 

Fantasy novel by Leigh Goff.



About Disenchanted:


A dark curse, a forbidden love, an impossible choice.


Orphaned sixteen-year-old Sophie Goodchild is an outcast among the ordinaries and her coven, but not because she’s untalented. Descended from a powerful Wethersfield witch, her spellcasting gift is awkwardly emerging, but that’s the least of her worries. The boy she’s forbidden to fall for, a descendant of the man who condemned her ancestor to hang, carries a dark secret that could destroy them both unless Sophie learns how to tap into the mysterious power of her diamond bloodcharm. 

Suspenseful, dark, romantic, and brimming with old magic, Disenchanted captures the intrigue of New England’s witchlore.

Book Details:

Title: Disenchanted

Author Name: Leigh Goff

Genre(s): Young Adult, Fantasy Romance

Publisher: Musa Publishing, LLC http://www.musapublishing.com/

ISBN: 978-1-68009-045-1

Date Released: 12/19/2014

Add Disenchanted to your Goodreads Shelf:

Purchase Your Copy at Musa Publishing:

Disenchanted by Leigh Goff

Purchase Your copy at Amazon:

Disenchanted

About the Author:

After taking several writing courses in college and attending professional writing workshops after I graduated from the University of Maryland, University College, I began writing young adult fiction with purpose. I joined the Maryland Writers’ Association and Romance Writers of America and became an approved artist with the Maryland State Arts Council.

My debut novel, Disenchanted, is now available, and I am working on my next, The Witch’s Ring, which will be set in Annapolis.

Follow the Tour:

Jan. 23 Character Interview ~ http://sharonledwith.blogspot.ca/

Jan. 26 Spotlight ~ http://www.drcpromotions.com/

Jan. 29 Spotlight ~ http://www.babsbookbistro.net/

Feb. 3 Spotlight ~ http://jojodebrazza.com/

Feb. 10 Guest Post ~ http://karynd19.tumblr.com

Tour Coordinated by Sapphyria’s Book Promotions 

Linking up with Book Musing Monday at Mary-andering Creatively.

Book Musing Mondays final (1)
This post has been shared with Freedom Fridays

13 responses to this post.

  1. Hi Carrie,

    I really appreciate you taking the time to read and review Disenchanted on your blog. Thanks so much!

    Reply

  2. Thank you for writing it and for stopping in, Leigh! I wish I had a print copy so I could have had a student or two read it and review it too. I have a couple I think would really enjoy it. 🙂 I have also passed your name and title along to our librarian. Thank you so much for dropping in!

    Reply

  3. Hi Carrie, thank you for your review of this book and for the follow on bloglovin and I'm following you back! I love book recommendations and my teen might enjoy reading this book.
    Julie at Julie's Lifestyle

    Reply

  4. I like yor review, which points out what you like and what you didn't. It's good to know you would recommend it to your students.

    Reply

  5. Hi, sounds like a great book of adventure and magic. Thanks for sharing at Literacy Musing Mondays. 😉

    Reply

  6. Hi Carrie,

    Awesome review! Looks like a interesting read 🙂

    Reply

  7. I should be getting print copies in by the end of March and would be happy to send you one! I've already made a note to myself to get your address when they arrive.

    Reply

  8. So happy to see your blog followers on here today responding to the review! Hope they enjoy the read!

    Reply

  9. Thanks for the in depth review. I'm working on a little project that has a similar 'not fitting in/self searching' character development so this book will definitely be on my research reading list!

    Thanks again 🙂

    Reply

  10. I am sorry that I missed the author, I will be adding the book to my wishlist on my Nook. I am a big YA fan as well as paranormal fan so I should enjoy this. Did she say if there was gong to be a sequel?

    Reply

  11. This comment has been removed by the author.

    Reply

  12. nice review. Thank you for sharing at the Thursday Favorite Things blog hop. xo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

