Sip and Say

The heartfelt counsel of a friend is as sweet as perfume and incense. Proverbs 27:9



If we were having coffee, I’d probably be like an hour early. 

No. Seriously.

I don’t have anyone to have coffee with except for my husband. 

If we were having coffee, I’d be so excited that I’d show up WAY early.



I’d smile as we murmured hellos. Sip the foam from my cappuccino, as I listen to anything you’d like to share with me. 

Woes from work, tales of toddlers, shopping specials, I’d listen with a professional grace. 

Eventually I’d warm up enough to  whisper responses over my mug. Basic answers, maybe a question or two about your conversations to keep you talking. 

If we were having coffee, and you asked about my week, I’d probably start by telling you about my word FINISH for 2015. This week I actually managed to finish a couple things.

A co-worker’s mother purchased the 250+ novels I had stacked behind my recliner in the living room since July 2014. So, I packed them up and hauled them away.

Once I had that finished, I read an e-book I agreed to review on my blog later this month. First book I’ve read in a while.

I decluttered a pile of papers that had accumulated around the books. They dated back to 2012. Well, the coupons I had cut expired in 2012.

I finalized my resignation from one committee by holding the election to replace my officer position. And I finished three blog posts.

I could tell you that I am far behind on my one blog post a day, but I’m rethinking that too. I just try again each day and focus on what I did get finished instead of beating myself up over what I didn’t even get to start.



If we were to have coffee, I’d tell you the most amazing thing I’ve learned in this 10-Day Do Over Challenge so far is that I can start my do over minutely if I need to. If I mess up, if I miss a day, it’s all ok. I just need another do over and it starts right now.

If we were to have coffee, I’d have to tell you that this sitting down with a female friend to chat and share, is another do over. A chance to build a relationship with someone. A chance to open myself up to the risk of getting hurt and the opportunity of being loved.

If we were to have coffee, I’d leave not only caffeinated, but also elated.

Thanks for letting me join the #WeekendCoffeeShare! If you would like to join, check out Part Time Monster for the linky and additional instructions. If you want to read more, you can find the links there or on twitter or facebook (#WeekendCoffeeShare).

photo credit: Cocoa Dream via photopin cc
7 responses to this post.

  1. Glad you stopped by for the coffee link-up!

    A post a day is really difficult to do—good luck!

    Reply

  2. I'd love to sit down and have a cup of coffee with you! I know we'd be friends–I have books stacked behind chairs, too (not to mention papers on my desk that I need to file from last year…and the year before…). I also have photos I haven't hung (they're still sitting on the floor, waiting for me to decide where to hang them).

    Reply

  3. Great post! If we were to have coffee, I would give you a big congratulations on all of those things you've finished! If we were to have coffee, I'd also ask you more about this do-over challenge! Have a good rest of your day :

    Reply

  4. Learning that if you mess up you can start over is such an important lesson, in life, not just in blogging. Too often people give up way too soon, where they could have succeeded just by trying again. And, to have finished several things, that is indeed something that really makes a day. Glad I stopped by to have virtual coffee with you, Carrie Ann. Alana

    Reply

  5. I love your word. Finish is something a lot of us forget to do or just don't follow through with because it might hurt someone so we stay and stay and stay in certain situations. It's like not being able to say “no”. Not a good thing. Finish is good. Finish is saying no when you have to or want to. Excellent plan!

    Reply

  6. I think I need to adopt your word. I have so many unfinished things … I enjoyed reading your post and having virtual coffee with you. Thank you for sharing. I'm glad you're enjoying your makeovers!

    Reply

  7. If we were to have coffee I would see just how much you remind me of myself. Once again you managed to share a post I could write myself….If I finished more things, did more challenges, put myself out there more. ..lol Great job.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

