Motivation, Inspiration, & Encouragement from an Egotistical Ornament

Starting with Baby’s 1st Christmas we’ve bought both kids a new ornament every year based on their current activities or likes. Occasionally Chris or I wind up with a new ornament, but typically only if it’s a gift from someone outside of our home. This year as I was perusing the individual ornaments on the racks at Hobby Lobby, I came across the above ornament. It was the only one like it they had. 

I wasn’t shopping for myself, so I walked past. I didn’t find anything that fit for either teenager or my husband, but I couldn’t let go of the fact that I found an ornament about blogging. So I went back and got it. Not something I would normally do, but I knew I would regret it if I didn’t.

I look at it now, hanging on the tree, in this photo I’m posting on my blog, in my mind when I realize I haven’t posted hardly at all this month, and the voice in my head says that I’m not worthy of having such an egotistical ornament.

BUT.

There’s always a but. This is a big one for me. (Bahahahaha! Come on! That was funny!)

I don’t see that statement as an egotistical claim that my blog is all that and that the masses should flock here to read it. Not at all. 

Just the opposite, actually.

I see that statement as motivation, encouragement, and perhaps inspiration, even. 

What? For real?

Yes. For real.

I’m ready to move on. Move forward. Move up. I’m wanting to take others with me.

I need a specific platform. A more streamlined, concise name (brand). A message out of my mess. 

People need a reason not only to read my blog, but to be able to engage with others through it. To meet Jesus. To meet the needs of not only themselves, but others. Strangers. People who will never be able to repay them.

I’ve got some work to do. It’s a little scary, but more than that it’s an adventure. A challenge. A chance to get out of the boat and walk on the water with Jesus.

So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand. Isaiah 41:10 NIV

What unlikely source have you found motivation in lately? How can I encourage you as we enter a new year? Praying that you will find peace as we close out 2014 and ring in 2015.

This post is shared with tons of others on the Motivation Monday Linky Party. Please drop by and check out some of the other AWESOME posts!
6 responses to this post.

  1. Hi, Carrie, I just found your blog and I like your mission. I'm following you.

    Reply

  2. Hi, Elaine! Thank you so much! How did you find my little corner of the world? Have a blessed day!

    Reply

  3. Beautiful post! That's one of my favorite scriptures, too!

    Reply

  4. Kristen,
    Thank you for stopping in. I'm so glad you found something to connect to! One thing I want to develop is building community here instead of just an online place to drain my brain.

    Do you have any suggestions for how I could invite conversation? Have a blessed day!

    Reply

  5. Great post. I would have bought that ornament for myself, too!

    Reply

  6. I couldn't believe my eyes, Mary. Right there mixed in with nursing, firefighters, and other professions was a blogging ornament. How could I leave without it?!?!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

