Nightmare Bedrooms

We lived in several five different homes that I can think of before I graduated high school. That’s a total of five bedrooms, but I really only remember a couple of them as “mine”.

The bedroom in town was mine, but I was young. I remember a glass light cover that was a clown similar to Bozo. His nose was a wooden red ball that went over the screw to hold the cover on the bracket. Sometimes he scared me. I also had a clown light switch plate. I remember waking up with nightmares there a lot.

It was kind of like this.
When we moved to the country my parents remodeled the house so we would have enough bedrooms. After the porch was closed in the front area was divided so both Beth and I could have our own rooms. I choose a baby blue color for my room and Beth got pink. I’m not certain if she chose or not. She may not have been old enough.

When we built the new house in the field I wanted a black room. Black walls, black ceiling, and glow-in-the-dark stars. What we all got instead was contractor white. Walls, ceilings, everywhere.

I did eventually buy a bit of Southwestern décor from Home Interiors to decorate the space. I had PePe for a long time. I’m not sure where he is now. Perhaps in storage. Although he looked sad, he had a cute sombrero.

The only interesting fact I can tell you about my bedrooms is that they were always a disaster. 

What? You think you are the first kids ever to have a messy room?
I couldn’t ever see my carpet. I’m pretty sure it was in pristine shape when we sold both houses because I had protected it so well. 

Unfortunately, I’ve never learned the arts of decluttering, organization, or even the desire to force myself to do it anyways. Perhaps if I had gone away to college and lived in a dorm room I would have been shamed into learning to clean. I can’t stand for someone to see my mess. Just because I’m ok with it doesn’t mean I’m ok with others being subjected to it.

So, don’t accept my process as socially acceptable. It isn’t. That’s why we don’t have people over on a regular basis. I’ve never learned the skill of “normal” housekeeping skills.
Oh, and you want a black bedroom? Well, if you can talk your dad into it I’ll buy the paint and the glow-in-the-dark stars! 

Inspiration for this post was taken from 30 Days of Your Stories . Please hop over to her blog and check out her awesome idea!!!

You can link to MY 30 days of stories below!

1. Saturday mornings
2. Neighbors
3. Vacation
4. Music
5. Accents
6. Cars
7. Books
8. Purse
9. Your favorite grade
10. Your Go-To Story
11. Holidays
12. Letter to yourself as a teenager
13. Lying
14. Pets
15. Sports
16. Your Room
17. One time you weren’t cool
18. Weather
19. Recipe
20. What you want to remember
21. Traveling
22. Shoes
23. Favorite Bible verse
24. Your bravest moment
25. Garden
26. Your favorite color
27. The breathings of your heart
28. Comfort
29. The book inside you

30. Your worst fear

photo credit: four12leafclover via photopin cc

Leave a Reply

