Thanksgiving Snow Bunny


Holidays are supposed to be times of family, fellowship, food, and fun. I can’t remember a holiday that didn’t revolve around food, but overwhelming a lot of the other “f” attributes where lost in the current stress of each year. Even as an adult, when I have the ability to control either the circumstances I allow myself to be put in or at the very least my response and emotions to the circumstances, I have a difficult time relaxing enough to enjoy holidays.

With that joyful and inspiring introduction to my holiday memories, I will venture in to one holiday memory that it at least very different from all the rest.

One year my parents decided to travel to my mother’s family in Maine for Thanksgiving. I remember nothing of the decision, packing, getting homework before we left, the flights, arriving, you know, the details kids don’t realize take so much planning! I don’t even remember Thanksgiving dinner. I suppose there was food involved!

What I do remember is that it snowed. And I was in Maine with cousins and family that was not only used to it, but prepared for it. That meant a lot of the time was spent outside.



We rode a toboggan built for ten (or at least it seemed like it) down the hill at Uncle Billy and Aunt Kathy’s house. I laughed through my fear. I didn’t have cousins close to my age in Missouri. I was the oldest grandchild and my youngest uncle was closest in age to me at eight years older. 

My grandfather had a pair of skis in his basement. I went outside and experimented with them by myself. Probably not such a great idea for a sixth grader with no experience on skis. How are you supposed to get up after you fall down???



They even had McDonalds in Maine. Our small town in Missouri didn’t. I ordered a hot beverage (Tea or coffee, I can’t remember.) and a hot fudge sundae. For some reason my mom’s family thought that was the most hilarious thing ever. I was stumped. Don’t most people have coffee with their dessert? Especially when it’s cold and snowy outside?

The only “bad” memory I have from that holiday was my math homework from missing school. Even with adult help, I missed them all. Yeah, let an A student get zeroes on all her assignments for a week and see how she responds. Fortunately my math teacher let me redo them after I had some actual instruction.

I’m really not a fan of cold weather. I don’t think you’ll ever hear of me planning to move north, but I do like to play in the snow every once in a while. A vacation holiday during a snow storm is definitely one of the best holiday memories I have!

Inspiration for this post was taken from 30 Days of Your Stories . Please hop over to her blog and check out her awesome idea!!!

You can link to MY 30 days of stories below!

1. Saturday mornings
2. Neighbors
3. Vacation
4. Music
5. Accents
6. Cars
7. Books
8. Purse
9. Your favorite grade
10. Your Go-To Story
11. Holidays
12. Letter to yourself as a teenager
13. Lying
14. Pets
15. Sports
16. Your Room
17. One time you weren’t cool
18. Weather
19. Recipe
20. What you want to remember
21. Traveling
22. Shoes
23. Favorite Bible verse
24. Your bravest moment
25. Garden
26. Your favorite color
27. The breathings of your heart
28. Comfort
29. The book inside you
30. Your worst fear

photo credit: Zayabibu via photopin cc

photo credit: Sam T (samm4mrox) via photopin cc

photo credit: El Tuercas via photopin cc

10 responses to this post.

  1. Some of the best memories are the simplest. What you experienced is one of the best things about childhood travel, at least in my experience – it opens you up to new experience at a time when you are still open to trying most everything. I'm happy it resulted in cherished memories. Alana

    Reply

  2. Hey there, I found you via the NaBloPoMo blogroll.

    As part of NaBloPoMo I try to comment on as many participating blogs as I can, and I am also adding participating blogs to my feed reader. So I’m just dropping by to let you know I’ve added your blog to my feedreader, whenever you publish a post I will see it. 🙂

    I have created three bundles on Inoreader so that bloggers can easily visit other participating NaBloPoMo bloggers which you can find here –

    http://www.snoskred.org/2014/11/nablopomo-bundles-final-edition.html

    Your blog is in the second bundle.. I also have a link up going at my place so my readers can find participating blogs which you are more than welcome to add your blog link to.

    Looking forward to seeing your posts. You may see me drop by again during November, but it might be December before I finish my first drop by to blogs if I don't get faster at leaving comments. 🙂

    Happy NaBloPoMo to you!
    Snoskred
    http://www.snoskred.org

    Reply

  3. memories are so good. this year i am missing the snow of last year 🙂

    Reply

  4. It's funny how you remember something that is completely different from the norm. I don't like snow or the cold either. I spent the first half of my life in Australia, but now I'm here in England, I suffer (not necessarlity silently.)

    Reply

  5. I grew up in Idaho, where it was typically cold with the occasional snow fall on Thanksgiving. All our Thanksgivings were spent at relatives homes. I remember working at a ski resort during the holiday when I was college age. I blew my mind how many people vacationed over the holiday.

    Reply

  6. This is neat! I love to hear stories like this, I will check out the idea-starter! 🙂 I was born and raised in Florida, so no fairy-tale holidays like this one! Just palm trees and sandy shores 🙂

    Reply

  7. Thanksgiving Snow bunny! What a great name for a post!

    Reply

  8. I love thinking back on childhood memories now as an adult because I realize there's so much that went into things that I didn't know of. And now having two kids it's the same thing, the planning isn't something they will remember. Oh and btw, a hot chocolate and a hot fudge sundae sounds great!!! lol

    Reply

  9. Toboganning and skiing in the snow can be a lot of fun! Next time if you catch yourself in the snow, perhaps make a snow angel if you haven't already or a snowman even…it's a lot of fun though it sounds like you did! 😉 ❤

    Reply

  10. Sounds like a wonderful holiday! We live in a cold-snowy state and grew up with a pond at the bottom of the hill where we live. We used to go ice skating every winter, shoveling it off before someone would venture out. It was like living in a Norman Rockwell painting, or at least that is how it feels looking back on all the neighborhood kids playing crack the whip or watching someone skate backwards. Each year someone for Christmas someone in my family asked for ice skates! Life was simple and lovely growing up in a small town. I can't quite remember. I think you mentioned it one of your stories…but did you grow up in a small Missouri town?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

