Home Is A Nose In A Book


I’ve always heard that home is where your heart is, but I wonder if it’s exactly true. At least for me. Because I’ve also always heard that I need to get my nose out of some book. I haven’t had much direct instruction about my heart, but I’ve been told a lot about my nose.

So, maybe home is where your nose is?

One book to talk about here? That has impacted my life? I have read hundreds of books. Very likely closer to thousands of books. And I’m supposed to talk about one?

The easy answer here would be the Bible. I use it more than any other book I’ve ever read. I rarely re-read anything, but it’s definitely one I go back to daily. I’ve owned it in many versions, many translations, many different formats, and many different shapes and sizes. But that’s too easy.

Instead, maybe I should say that I struggled to learn how to read in early elementary. I hated it. It was hard. Everyone could look at letters and see words, I saw frustration, anger, and tears. I felt books fly out of my hands and slam into walls on the other side of the room because I couldn’t figure out the words even after reading the same book each night before bed for weeks. 

Then a teacher started keeping me after school to work with me. I couldn’t throw books and cry in front of the teacher like I could at home. The teacher knew tricks other than just pointing under each word, and apparently at some point in time I caught on and caught up.

I had library books confiscated during social studies (yuck!), science, and math. I missed recesses for not paying attention in class because I was too busy reading. 

And if I got in trouble at home I got grounded. From BOOKS! Reading was banned. That was my discipline!

What kind of punishment is that? Tell a kid who struggled to learn how to read that she isn’t allowed to read! You’re kidding, right?

Nope. I learned to love reading so much that it became an addiction. It became, and still is, my escape from reality. A place to go to hide from the truths I don’t want to face, a way to travel to the destinations I may never get to see in person, an opportunity to step out of my own skin and into someone else’s. 



Do I really think my home is books with my nose? No, but I think I could be at home just about anywhere that had an amazing supply of books.

Inspiration for this post was taken from 30 Days of Your Stories . Please hop over to her blog and check out her awesome idea!!!

You can link to MY 30 days of stories below!

1. Saturday mornings
2. Neighbors
3. Vacation
4. Music
5. Accents
6. Cars
7. Books
8. Purse
9. Your favorite grade
10. Your Go-To Story
11. Holidays
12. Letter to yourself as a teenager
13. Lying
14. Pets
15. Sports
16. Your Room
17. One time you weren’t cool
18. Weather
19. Recipe
20. What you want to remember
21. Traveling
22. Shoes
23. Favorite Bible verse
24. Your bravest moment
25. Garden
26. Your favorite color
27. The breathings of your heart
28. Comfort
29. The book inside you
30. Your worst fear

photo credit: Enokson via photopin cc
photo credit: yorkd via photopin cc
6 responses to this post.

  1. Carrie, just curious: did you have a learning disability that you overcame? I ask for a reason. I think it's a huge triumphant breakthrough that you came from not being able to read to flying high on reading! 😉 And I too love reading for the same reasons you mention after having a bad experience with books. 🙂 ❤

    Reply

  2. Your story about learning to read touched my heart. Not my nose. Not my home either. I live reading too. At some stage, I realized I was slightly dyslexic because of my inability to spell certain words. I always forget how they should be written. Lucky for the spell-correct now. However, that hasn't stopped me from writing novels. You can escape into worlds of your own making with books.

    Reply

  3. Learning to read was a lot of fun at my house. Lots of books around for us to read. But when it came time for punishment, we could only read the encyclopedia.

    Reply

  4. I love this post. It was about three years ago that I started to love reading. Since then I've read tons of books. I would agree, home is where the nose is:) and I LOVE your built in bookshelf!!!!

    Reply

  5. My cousin has dyslexia and she ended up having to go to a special school to learn how to read – I feel so for you as I witnessed only a small percentage of her struggle. So, as for my addiction to books, let's put it this way. My son was in my house yesterday, talking about a regionally famous, well attended book sale held each November (but cancelled this year), and said “They should come here – you have a much better selection!” I'm still laughing – I think! (and I love your bookshelves.) Alana

    Reply

  6. I'm a big fan of reading, but it wasn't always so. It took me a while to find those authors I really felt those authors had a special connection to me. Most recently, I fell in love with Dani Shapiro who writes honestly about the midlife crisis and overcoming self-doubt. Thanks for triggering these memories.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

