Balloon Release for Burdens

From the clenched jaw to the knotted muscles, our burdens are tied to us and tie us up. 

The daily stress, the long-term financial struggle, the strain of medical unknowns, the things that simply seem to get on our nerves, it’s all the same, a burden.

They affect our bodies, our minds, and if we allow them, our souls.

Tonight as I was worshiping with our local Christian radio station, I picked up a line in “He Knows” by Jeremy Camp that I hadn’t paid much attention to before: “Let your burdens come undone.”



When I typically think about my burdens and what I’m supposed to do with them, I think about laying them down. 

Cast your cares on the Lord and he will sustain you; he will never let the righteous be shaken. Psalm 55:22

Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.” Matthew 11:28

I guess I always thought about my burdens as having to be carried by someone. A friend could bear them for me. I could hand them to Jesus to bear for me. Or I could simply grit my teeth and carry them myself.

And then today I really heard that line. “Let your burdens come undone.”



What a beautiful picture.

Not me passing my burdens to someone else to deal with, but me releasing them because God’s already taken care of it all anyway. Me choosing to let go of the clenched jaw, the knotted muscles, and the conflicted mind. Me choosing to release the burdens and accept His love and grace.


photo credit: Steenbergs via photopin cc
3 responses to this post.

  1. I really like your analogy about letting go the burdens. The balloons are such a powerful visual. So many times I try to resolve things myself…not even realizing what I'm doing. God has taken care of it all. I need to trust that His way is the right way…not mine.

    Reply

  2. Dory,

    Thank you for joining the conversation! I am, unfortunately, queen of I'll fix my mess myself. So silly. God wants me to let go and let Him. I know He can handle anything I throw at Him, but I always feel like I should be responsible for myself. He made me. He already knows the messes I make. He's just waiting for us to let them go so He can take the mess and turn it into something beautiful!

    Reply

  3. I'm glad you are able to let go of your burdens with the Lord's help. I love the visual imagery of the colourful balloons floating away as your burdens do. 🙂 ❤

    Reply

Leave a Reply

