Psalm 73: Seeking Enough


I was so foolish and ignorant–I must have seemed like a senseless animal to you. Yet I still belong to you; you hold my right hand. You guide me with your counsel, leading me to a glorious destiny. Whom have I in heaven but you? I desire you more than anything on earth. Psalm 73:22-25

When I set out last month to plan April’s blog posts for the A to Z Challenge, I had three goals in mind:

1. Share 26 Christian songs.
2. Find titles that would work with the A to Z theme.
3. Try to showcase a varied selection of artists and genres within 
        Christian music to reach the most people.

I didn’t go through my own personal collection and choose only from my favorite songs. I’ve chose some that I had never listed to myself before this challenge–like today’s.

When I went to write about “Oceans from the Rain” yesterday, another one I wasn’t overly familiar with, this little voice started whispering in the back of my head. This morning as I sit in the quiet to write this out before my family decides to enjoy our day off, that voice now has a long stick in it’s hand and is straight up jabbing me.

“I talking to you through these songs. Do you hear the theme yet? I am Enough! You have found what you are seeking.”

Seek. My word for 2014.

Yes, I set out on a journey. To find God. To seek His will. But in all honesty, I was really seeking ‘what’s next’.

Could it be that it’s time for me to stop seeking the next project, the next activity, the next BIG thing for God, and simply accept that He is the big thing?

Sometimes I feel so dumb. Really.

Like a dog chasing it’s tail, I’ve been chasing the One holding me in the palm of His nail-scarred hand.

The first line of this chorus, “Psalm 73 (My God’s Enough)” by Barlow Girl, says “My God’s enough for me.” He is. Even in my dumbest moments along the journey. 


What about you? Is God enough for you?

If you haven’t been following along, please go back and take a look at Matchless Majesty, Nothing Without You, and When Life Give You Rain, Give it to God! He’ll Make an Ocean!

photo credit: Wonderlane via photopin cc
5 responses to this post.

  1. Yes, I set out on a journey. To find God. To seek His will. But in all honesty, I was really seeking ‘what’s next’.Lovely lines these..

    Reply

  2. El Shaddai is all I need!

    Reply

  3. Thank you for sharing! Great post!!!

    Reply

  4. This really spoke to me. I have been focused on the next big thing instead of resting in HIM as the big thing, and I didn't even realize it. Thanks for your words!

    Reply

  5. Beautiful reminder! New follower here. I'm stopping by from the “A to Z” challenge, and I look forward to visiting again!

    Sylvia
    http://www.writinginwonderland.blogspot.com/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

