Adopted Kings & Queens


Pure and genuine religion in the sight of God the Father means caring for orphans and widows in their distress and refusing to let the world corrupt you. James 1:27


When I was making the list of song titles for this month, my teenage daughter immediately said I needed to use “Kings and Queens”. I needed a Q song, so it went on list.

Now, I’ve heard this song enough to be able to sing along, but I’ve never really attached to it, nor deeply pondered the meaning behind the words. As a matter of fact, I sorta have dismissed it because I think it’s a little vain for us to go around thinking of ourselves as kings and queens. I’m a child of the king, but that definitely doesn’t make me a princess.

So, I had to do some research on this one. Looking at the lyrics, it looks like a missions song. Get involved. Give your time. Give your money. Give your heart.

And it is.

But according to an interview AA gave (here), it is a song about orphans. 

I have a heart for children. Especially disadvantaged children. I’d bring them all home with me if I could.

However, aren’t we all orphans? At least until we accept God’s adoption plan?

God decided in advance to adopt us into his own family by brining us to his own family by bringing us to himself through Jesus Christ. This is what he wanted to do, and it gave him great pleasure. Ephesians 1:5


We have been chosen by the one true King. Yes, perhaps we are kings and queens. God Himself chose us. Chose to sacrifice His own Son for the opportunity to save us. 

Sounds like we’re pretty special.


photo credit: unltoday via photopin cc
Leave a Reply

