Planting Diamonds in the Field


So, I accidentally posted my “L” post for the A to Z Challenge on Sunday (4/13/2014) instead of Monday. I keep forgetting that we’re not supposed to post for that on Sundays, and with writing my posts ahead and setting them to auto-post, well, it just happens.

Add to that the craziness of the past week, and well, I’m just amazed I’m actually getting blog posts up.

We were supposed to play softball games every day last week to make up for our rain outs. Monday we got rained out again, so we played four nights of double headers in a row. 

Tuesday night during the second inning of our first game I felt something sharp poke my left hand. I glanced away from my clipboard toward my ring finger, and didn’t know whether to bawl or vomit.

The center diamond was gone from my wedding set.

The joke now is that our “diamond” is a true diamond.

I managed to coach two games without coming unglued, but I cried the whole way home. My husband went and looked again for me after I came home. The groundskeepers have looked.

It’s gone.

Probably ground deep into the infield. 

It was small. In my husband’s words, “It isn’t like you lost the Pink Panther.” But it was mine.

Sometimes losing something is hard. Especially something with sentimental value. 

I’m not typically an overly emotional person. However, this week it’s almost been like I’ve been teetering on the edge of an emotional melt down. While frantically racing to finish grading some spelling tests before I rushed out to coach Wednesday’s double header, my grading pen ran out of ink. 

Yep. A pen running out of ink pushed me to the point of tears.

Here’s hoping this week is a little (Ok, a LOT!) less emotional.

photo credit: LifeSupercharger via photopin cc
5 responses to this post.

  1. Aw … don't worry about posting a day early. Happens to the best of us. And the A to Z is suppose to be fun and encouraging. No stress. Lovely blog and post!

    Sheri at Writer's Alley

    Home of Rebel Writer CREED 2014
    Mighty Minion Bureau Team #atozchallenge

    Reply

  2. Just repost so you don't get ahead of yourself!
    So sorry to hear about donating your diamond to the playing field!
    But it's just stuff. And what a great story to pass down. You will have generations searching that field for the “Great Lost Diamond of (Fill in the Blank) Field”!
    Maybe someone will find it and send it to “Home” someday!
    Donna Smith
    The A-to-Z Challenge
    http://mainelywrite.blogspot.com
    Mainely Write

    Reply

  3. Oh, I feel sick for you! Such a huge loss. 😦 I've lost things I value too…and in the end, I can only console myself with, well, it's just a thing, and I can't take it with me when I'm gone. We get so attached to stuff, don't we? Maybe the hubs will purchase something sparkly for mother's day….or your next anniversary. :0)

    Reply

  4. I have an understanding of how you are feeling. Hugs! Breathe and let go.

    Reply

  5. Oh no!! SO sorry to hear that you lost your diamond!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

