Skydiving Down Deep


As a child I spent many weekends with my grandparents in rural Missouri. They typically spent weekend evenings in venues known as opries. 

The members of the audience were the performers at the venues they attended. I grew up on bluegrass, country music, gospel, banjos, fiddles, bass, and guitars. And you can’t forget the harmonizing twang of nicotine-affected male and female voices raising the roof. 

“Step into the water, wade out a little bit deeper. Wet your feet in the water of His love.” Yes, I could sing every word from memory by the time I was seven or eight. I was known at Girl Scout camp as a walking hymnal.

Shhh. Don’t tell anyone, but I still love the twang and the old style music.

However, that song reminds me of “Dive” by Steven Curtis Chapman. You can read the story behind the song here below the lyrics.

For years I’ve watched skydivers and dreamed. I’m really not keen on heights. I spaz near the edge of anything off the ground. I can’t walk across grating. Stairs that I can see through or down over the railing make me a nervous wreck. Yet I really wanted to know what it felt like to fly through the air with nothing but a parachute.

A couple years ago we noticed that a jumps were taking place a little less than an hour from our house. Every time we traveled through the area it seemed jumpers were falling from the sky. 

I researched. I read. I priced. And for my thirty-fifth birthday my husband signed me up.

Yes, I could have panicked. Could have hated it. Could have been violently ill dealing with my fear of heights. But even greater than my fear was what-if I never tried it and missed the experience entirely.

Sometimes you just have to dive in. Into the deep. Totally drenched in His Spirit and His love.

I was scared. I did it anyway. I loved it. Absolutely I’d do it again. I got to witness to my tandem jumper on the flight up when he asked about my Christian shirt. 

See, I knew that my roots were grounded in God no matter what happened.

I pray that from His glorious, unlimited resources He will empower you with inner strength through His Spirit. Then Christ will make His home in your hearts as you trust in Him. Your roots will grow down into God’s love and keep you strong. And may you have the power to understand, as all God’s people should, how wide, how long, how high, and how deep His love is. May you experience the love of Christ, though it is too great to understand fully. Then you will be made complete with all the fullness of life and power that comes from God. Ephesians 3:16-19
photo credit: Droidicus via photopin cc
10 responses to this post.

  1. Love this post! What an amazing song! It really is inspiring!
    Skydiving seems like such an exciting and thrilling experience! Would love to do it one day!
    Lovely post! I will definitely be back to read more of your stuff!
    I also followed you on bloglovin! 🙂 xx

    http://tropicalcolours.blogspot.com.au/

    Reply

  2. Oh wow you are really brave! I always wanted to skydive and I'll think I'll do! love this post!

    XX Laura

    Reply

  3. wow. that is nice. one day i hope to skydive too 🙂 nice sone.

    Reply

  4. Braver than me. If I had to do it, I would. But I would HATE it! People try to get me onto amusement rides just to watch my face. They're more entertained by my reactions than the ride itself.

    Reply

  5. Gosh, this looks terrifying!
    I've never tried doing any extreme sports- I'm too scared!

    Reply

  6. Powerful post. This looks scary to me. Stopping in from A-Z.

    Reply

  7. wow what an experience i wish i could do something like this x

    Reply

  8. You are braver than me! I could never do it. Love Chapman's song, Dive.

    Reply

  9. Totally love this post! My Mom went skydiving when she was in her 20's and all of us kids have said we will NOT be doing that! lol
    Great Post! ❤

    Reply

  10. You're braver than me…I could never skydive!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

