B is For One Day Over A Thousand


A single day in your courts is better than a thousand anywhere else! I’d rather be a gatekeeper in the house of my God than live the good life in the homes of the wicked. Psalm 84:10

Music has always been the language of my worship. It’s how I learn scripture, how I communicate with God, how I get tuned in. No pun intended.

Today’s song is a great example of that. When we play Christian music throughout the day, we are memorizing scripture.

Better is One Day” by Matt Redman is Psalm 84 set to music. 

From the first line, “How lovely is thy dwelling place…” which matches Psalm 84:1 to the chorus, “better is one day in your courts…,” which lines up with verse 10, this song is scriptural. When I sing I am memorizing the Word. 


Where better to be than in His courts?

What song has helped you to memorize Scripture? Have you ever been surprised when you’ve heard or read a verse that you already know it because of a song?

photo credit: Lawrence OP via photopin cc

7 responses to this post.

  1. So lovely…Liked it..

    Reply

  2. The study of sound is critical to our progress

    Reply

  3. I admit the only time I listen to Christian songs is during church or…when I was in parochial school. These days I hear songs in the everyday, the birds chirping, the wind rustling the redwood trees…

    And how's this for a story:

    When I moved to San Francisco 3 years ago I had Sirius XM on in my rental, and it was an awful, 8 hour ride drive from Southern California, rain, dust, then fog. But as I crossed the Bay Bridge close to midnight, the lights of the bridge twinkled through the clearing fog…just as Moby's “God Moving Over the Face of the Waters” came on. it was quite fitting…

    Reply

  4. Beautiful song choice for B; I started listening to a few Christian artists when I joined a new church…Tim Hughes became another favourite…my attendance has lapsed but my love hasn't 🙂

    Reply

  5. Carrie Ann: It's a good song, a good concept. It's better to have lived and loved. There isn't really any song I can think of that helps me to remember Scripture. Taking another tack, though, knowing the Lord's Prayer, for instance, in Irish or French, improves my language skills in these languages. Knowing that “ar neamh” means in or on Heaven, for instance, in Irish – tells me that neamh is Heaven in Irish. 🙂

    Reply

  6. I love that song too! One of my favorite worship songs is “Our God is an Awesome God.” I get a glimpse of heaven when I hear/sing that. 🙂

    Reply

  7. Iris, Thank you so much for sharing your story! It is amazing how God reveals Himself to us!!!!

    Music surrounds us, as you have made mention of, if we will only take the time to listen.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

