Thanking God for Donkeys that Won’t Cooperate


Then Balaam confessed to the angel of the Lord, “I have sinned. I didn’t realize you were standing in the road to block my way. I will return home if you are against my going.” Numbers 22:34 NLT

A large White Chocolate Mocha from McDonalds to ease the pain of being headed to my classroom on a B-E-A-UTIFUL Saturday morning. Except for when I attempted to get out of the Durango one wrong move caused the cup the flip upside down.

Half of a large White Chocolate Mocha all over the console, steering wheel, driver’s seat, and soaked into a spare jacket and hoodie I keep for softball practice. 

Happy Saturday morning! So much for a quick trip to work to get ready for the week ahead.

Fast forward to an hour later. Cleaning out the entire inside of the Durango while waiting on hubby to get home so we can head out of town. Picked up an old gym bag our daughter had left in the back, and a bazillion crushed up Cheez-its dump onto the floor.

Another mess cleaned up, Chris home and ready to go, and I discover my purse is missing. Apparently I left it in my classroom at school.

Yeah. You’ve had a day like this, haven’t you?

One mess after another keeps you from your planned destination.

Back in the day before motor vehicles, fancy coffees, pre-made snacks, and designer bags, a man named Balaam had the same kind of day.



Numbers 22:21-27 shows Balaam’s donkey running off the road into a field, crushing Balaam’s foot into a wall, and finally just lying down under Balaam. The donkey could see the angel of the Lord blocking the path and was responding.

Balaam, on the other hand, was getting frustrated and severely angry. He was ready to kill the donkey for disobedience when in truth the donkey was the only one obeying.

I wonder how often the inconveniences in my life are God’s way of stopping me from going where I don’t need to go? 

How often are we angry and frustrated when we should be thanking God for the angel He’s set in the path to block our way?

photo credit: ilovememphis via photopin cc
photo credit: Amelia Jean via photopin cc
3 responses to this post.

  1. Very interesting perspective – thank you for sharing! And I hope your day got better. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Laurel,

    Thank you for your comment! I didn't even think to mention that. My day did return to an even keel after three mishaps. 🙂

    Reply

  3. I had something similar happen to me today. A 2 liter of cola exploded in my freezer… definitely a bummer…. on the upside I have a clean freezer now.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

