Called to do Less

So yesterday I bit the bullet and wrote my authentic post on distractions for the February challenge in our Christian Bloggers community on G+. Sometimes being real isn’t much fun. I don’t always, rarely actually, like what I see when I intentionally examine myself. 

Hypocrite! First get rid of the log in your own eye; then you will see well enough to deal with the speck in your friend’s eye. Matthew 7:5 NLT

That Martha and Mary story, yeah, it’s not a favorite of mine. See, I like to learn. I don’t have a problem in the least sitting down in a group to study God’s word. As a matter of fact, I love it. But if I have to choose…

Learn or lead?



I’m going to pick lead pretty much every time.



Hello, my name is Carrie and I’m addicted to serving. I catch a buzz off of being too busy and the adrenaline I feel when I’m certain I can’t possibly meet all of the deadlines. 

I feel my best when I’m helping to encourage and inspire others to do more, go further, and be more actively involved than they ever even considered possible. 

I don’t like the feeling that someone else is in control. I need to know how things are going to go from beginning to end. I like people coming to me for answers.

I love to do the work. I love to dream it up. I love to plan and organize it. I love to see it play out. I actually don’t like to do the paperwork and cleanup afterwards, though. 

So, I have a hard time with the Martha and Mary story. I am a doer. I get frustrated easily with those who always claim to be to busy to do anything. 

But like Martha, I feel like I have been called onto the carpet. I’ve been hiding behind my busyness. It keeps me from building relationships with people. It keeps me from focusing on God’s will for my life. It keeps me amped up on this “natural high” as an old teacher would have called it instead of allowing me to rely on God.

I feel like I’m confessing here. That wasn’t my intent.

Are you like me? Are you hiding behind your jobs, your responsibilities, your calling? 

We have to look at ourselves first, but what about the person in your congregation that seems to do everything? They’re literally always serving. Have you ever looked past what they’re doing to why? Maybe they, too, are exhausted. Can you seek one of them out and encourage them to stop? To give something up that isn’t what God has called them to do, but something they’re simply doing to keep busy?

I am offering this advice based on my own experience. A well-placed, loving, “Are you called to do that or are you just filling a gap?” might have saved me a lot of stress and heart-ache.

Who can we encourage this week?

photo credit: sebastianjt via photopin cc

photo credit: mrsdkrebs via photopin cc

photo credit: bump via photopin cc

3 responses to this post.

  1. I also get adrenaline when I'm to busy. I've been working on focusing on what is the most important.

    Reply

  2. “It keeps me from building relationships with people”…..Yes, it does. I also think some are “busy” because they think if they themselves don't do it, it won't get done.

    Reply

  3. Nice job…good things to think about. I moved from the city to the mountains so that I be creative and enjoy life more.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

