Living Mainstream America’s Alternative Lifestyle



Wisdom is enshrined in an understanding heart; wisdom is not found among fools. Proverbs 14:33


My husband and I are not skiers. We live in southeast Missouri. We aren’t even closet fans of professional skiing. So, it is odd that we found ourselves excitedly watching the men’s inaugural Olympic freestyle skiing half-pipe event from the 2014 Sochi Winter Olympics on TV earlier this week. 

We were amazed at the ease some skiers performed amazing tricks in the air, and we cringed when some of them landed badly and were obviously hurt or in pain. Dreams fading regardless of their level of injury.

So much work. So much dedication. So much sacrifice and seemingly the reward taken away in one landing.

Perhaps the largest image in my mind from watching this on TV was the large head-shaped cutout being carried by a US skier’s wife. US Olympic Gold-Medalist David Wise’s wife attended the Sochi Winter Olympics while hoisting a large headshot of the couple’s two-year-old daughter, Nayeli. Every time the camera panned to her, I smiled. 

It was so unusual. So odd. And yet, so sweet, that I couldn’t help but grin. What a brave wife and mother to stand on the sidelines waving a giant head!

I’m not going to lie. I would have forgotten all about this family. As a matter of fact if I hadn’t noticed their names in the news, I already would have. Unfortunately, an NBC headline is making waves.

Five days ago nbcolympics.com posted “David Wise’s alternative lifestyle leads to Olympic gold” by Skyler Wilder. I read the headline and thought, “What? Did I miss something in his bio?”

So, silly me read the article expecting to discover some shocking information about the man that would embarrass and disgrace the US.

Prepare to be shocked, embarrassed, and disgraced.

According to the wording in this article, “…Wise has the lifestyle of an adult.” Wait. How old is he again? I thought he was an adult.

He is. Twenty-three. Married. Has a daughter. Attends church regularly. Sees himself behind a pulpit in the future.

So, what’s so alternative about Wise’s lifestyle? See the above paragraph. He’s too mature for his age. 

This, my friend, is what mainstream America has come to consider an “alternative lifestyle”? Shocked? Embarrassed? Disgraced?

Let me be honest here. Apparently I am moving into veteran status of alternative lifestyle if this is the definition. Our lives have been far from perfect, and never would I use the adjective easy, but by golly with God’s help we have done our best each step of the way.

Hi, my name is Carrie. I got married barely a month after I turned 18, had my first child exactly twelve months after our wedding, and the second one eighteen months after the first. We raise our children to honor God first, family second, and everything else will fall into place. 

American dream? Apparently it’s changed. I’m now living the definition of the American mainstream alternative lifestyle.

Alternative lifestyle? Fine. We’re rocking it!


photo credit: Ryan Holst via photopin cc

7 responses to this post.

  1. Rock it! I had no idea that was considered an alternative lifestyle. My mom was 17 when she married my dad (19). And they have been married ever since.
    I love the idea that he is married and living a blessed life.
    I wish we would focus more on that then the crap we do now… *sigh*

    Fantastic post and I am glad that you are sharing!

    Reply

  2. My parents got married young as well. Everyone is different and have to do what's best for them!

    Reply

  3. wow.. didnt know this. Sad that this is now considered 'alternate'… I would have said it shows a truly happy couple in love. I guess people just cant stand to see others in love anymore! Just came by your blog… lovely

    Reply

  4. Katrina,

    I was a bit offended when I first read those headlines. However, this is the time I live in. I couldn't help turn it around and poke back a bit. If I'm living an alternative lifestyle, then…well, I don't know what adjective we'd use to describe some of the rest of them!

    Thanks for stopping by. Please drop in again!

    Reply

  5. Darrica,

    Yes, this is true, but to dub a couple who married young “alternative” is taking things too far in my opinion. I'm just venting a bit here. 🙂

    Thank you for dropping in to chat! Please come back again.

    Reply

  6. Roshan,

    Thank you for dropping by and adding your voice to the conversation! I was a tad angry at the headlines so I responded the way I respond. In writing.

    Please come back again!!!!

    Reply

  7. I never thought I would say that I live “mainstream alternative lifestyle” ever. But from the looks of it, I think I will in the near future. The norms have definitely changed world over. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a comment