Handing Over the Reins to Rest


Tired. Exhausted. No energy. No words. No ability to string thoughts together. I can’t get caught up, let alone ahead. I’m sleeping, but not getting any rest.

Have you ever been there?

Everything in life is going smoothly, and yet sometimes finding the energy to stay awake seems to take everything I have.

So, tonight, after sacrificing to-do lists and even a responsibility in order to support my own child’s activities, I find myself scrambling to put something down on paper to encourage and lift others up.

Maybe you need to hear the same thing I need to hear right now.

You don’t need to be everything to everyone.

You don’t have to be perfect. You’re the only one who even expects you to attempt it.

You don’t have to do everything right now.

You don’t have to feel like you are in control of everything all of the time.

Let me say that again.

You don’t have to feel like you are in control of everything all of the time.

God’s got this. Take your hands off and back away.


He’s got this.

You’re keeping Him from handling it by having your hands in the way.

Perhaps like me you need to stop leading and start following.

Guess what? I read THIS and discovered a YOUTH who penned these words that speak to my soul when she, too, felt very tired.


We all get tired. We all have days, weeks, months, when we find ourselves so exhausted we’d like to stay in bed. Perhaps it is in these days that we need to hand the reins over to God, and let Him lead.

photo credit: normalityrelief via photopin cc
2 responses to this post.

  1. I have to remind myself of this ALL the time! And I find, if I forget for too long the Lord always has a way of knocking me on my behind to get the point across.

    Beckey
    http://www.etsy.com/shop/queenbsbusywork

    Reply

  2. Beckey,

    Chasin' our own tails, aren't we? I find myself learning the same lesson over and over. I'm trying to get caught up on commenting back to people in my blog community and as I re-read my own words above I'm going, “Man, I needed to hear that!”

    Thanks for dropping in to chat. Please stop in again!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

