Stop Looking Up Their Robes!

STARING FROM BELOW THE STAIRS

Ladies, have you ever been touring a place in a skirt and had to go up or down a ladder type set of steps? Or depending on how a set of stairs are set up, just up or down a set of stairs?

Guys, this can be very awkward for us girls.

Who is behind us, or under us, looking up our skirts?

When studying the Old Testament I’ve often expressed how glad I am that I don’t have to follow all those rules. One, I’m certain I couldn’t remember them all. Two, some of them are just, well, over the top in my opinion.

However, today I read one that made me laugh! I had to go back and read it twice! 

Then I texted it to my husband even though I knew he would be reading the same thing today. I wanted to make sure he didn’t miss it.

And do not approach my altar by going up steps. If you do, someone might look up under your clothing and see your nakedness. Exodus 20:26

NO MORE STEPS!

Darn robes.

Wait. 

Robes weren’t banned.

Steps were!

These instructions weren’t for women. They weren’t even for the common worshiper. The instruction was for priests.

The rules changed later in scripture. Steps were allowed and undergarments were wore under the robes to cover the flesh.

JUST LAUGH!!!


Usually I write to motivate, encourage, or teach. Today, I found something that I’d never noticed before that made me smile and wanted to share it.

I know that all scripture is given to teach and that there is a lesson here. I’m not mocking the lesson. I do believe God gave us a sense of humor, though, and there isn’t anything wrong in exercising it!

So, what have you found in scripture that has tickled you? Come on! Let’s share some laughter today!

photo credit: Stuck in Customs via photopin cc

6 responses to this post.

  1. You truly bring practicing Christianity to the masses 🙂
    You truly follow the “go forth and multiply” You spread the word so well, making it realistic and today fun.
    Yes God, gave us a sense of humor and we should use as often as possible!

    Reply

  2. Ha! Thanks for sharing. I always thought it was funny that Elijah suggested to the priests that maybe their god was “on the toilet”!

    Reply

  3. Liliana,

    Thank you for stopping in again and for your sweet words! Sometimes people are afraid of showing their sense of humor because they might offend someone. Today I was tickled and thought I'd share!

    Please come back to chat again!

    Reply

  4. Marya,

    Yes! We just heard that in a sermon a couple weeks ago. That is sooo funny! 🙂 Sense of humor most definitely!!!

    Thank you for adding your voice to the conversation! Please come back to chat again!!!

    Reply

  5. Romans Ch. 14 6-9 What's important in all this is that if you keep a holy day, keep it for God's sake; if you eat meat, eat it to the glory of God and thank God for prime rib; if you're a vegetarian, eat vegetables to the glory of God and thank God for broccoli. (The Message)

    HAHAHAHAH! Love it.

    Reply

  6. Renee, Thanks for the comment here and on G+. Sounds like I'm doubly blessed! I'll enjoy both and thank Him for them in the process! 😀

    Please drop in to chat again!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

