Too Much Peace



Too much.

Do you ever look at the work you have left to do in the day and think those two words?

What about the bills left to pay this month in comparison to balance in your bank accounts?

Or perhaps your too much is the chores that pile up at home while you’re busy trying to keep your head above water every where else.

Sometimes life just throws ‘too much’ at us. Doesn’t it?

Don’t worry about anything; instead, pray about everything. Tell God what you need, and thank him for all he has done. Then you will experience God’s peace, which exceeds anything we can understand. His peace will guard your hearts and minds as you live in Christ Jesus. Philippians 4:6-7 NLT

The quickest response to ‘too much’ is worry. 

How am I going to manage this? I don’t have enough time, money, or energy left. It’s impossible to get all of this taken care of.

Yep. That’s where our thoughts often turn when we become overwhelmed by our too much.

However, scripture tells us not to worry about anything. 

Anything.

That’s hard to swallow isn’t it?

Does God really care about the papers on my desk to grade? Surely He thinks I’m capable of figuring this out on my own. He doesn’t want me to bring those papers to Him, does He?

Yup. He does. Keep reading.

Pray about EVERYTHING.

It didn’t say EXCEPT the papers you should have already graded, EXCEPT the bills you never should have accrued, or EXCEPT the mundane chores that every human has to deal with.

No. There are no exceptions in this scripture. It clearly says EVERYTHING. Tell Him what you need and then thank Him for meeting those needs.

Wow.

God, I need help. I’m behind at work. I have no idea how I’m going to stretch my money to cover all the expenses, and I’m even failing at keeping house. I need to find more hours in a day and a long-term solution to this debt. God, I know you already have a plan prepared. Thank you for providing time for me to get caught up without sacrificing family time. Thank you for meeting our needs financially so that we can not only stay current in our financial obligations, but so we can bless others too. Thank you for giving me a desire to use my free time to serve my family by doing household chores. I know you have already met our needs, and I praise you for that!

What happens when we can honestly do that?

Peace happens.

We will not only experience His peace that passes understanding, but that same peace will also guard our hearts and minds.

I don’t know about you, but I could use a little more peace and little less ‘too much’.

Can I simply reach out and take hold of this instruction to accept His peace?

photo credit: zoom_artbrush via photopin cc
13 responses to this post.

  1. I shudder when I think of having to go through life 'alone'. Thank you for your heartfelt post. In times of trauma, it is wonderful to have peace that passes all human understanding.

    Reply

  2. Thank you for your heartfelt post and its a great reminder of letting our higher power doing what we need when we surrender.

    Reply

  3. I could do with some money…?

    Reply

  4. it is great experience to feel that peace inside at a time when we all run through different commitments and issues in life. peace i feel sometimes gives that energy to handle anything.

    Reply

  5. Interesting that my post today was about this same topic of letting the universe, or g-d, take on some of the work and worry. And then we can be grateful for what we have and what we don't have yet, but will.soon.

    Reply

  6. Carol,

    I don't know how people who don't rely on God make it through some of the things life throws at us. I guess it explains why so many turn to alcohol, drugs, and other things that just mask the pain and the problems.

    Reply

  7. Sierra, Yes, I don't know about you, but too often I try to just handle. Tell Him and leave it at His feet is all I really need to do!

    Thanks for dropping in to chat. Please stop in again!!!

    Reply

  8. Dave,

    Me too. To get rid of student loans. God isn't a genie in a bottle, however. I get to lay my needs at His feet, expect Him to meet the need, thank Him for meeting it, and then make sure I'm doing what He tells me to do. It may be that I have to keep working hard to pay off my student loans for the rest of my working life. Or, He may find it best to send a way to pay them off early for me. Either way, I have to obedient to what He tells me to do. He IS going to take care of the need though.

    Thank you for stopping in! Please come back to chat again!

    Reply

  9. What a great thought, amarnaik! I love the idea that peace gives us the energy to handle whatever life throws at us. I'm going to have to think on that one for a bit.

    Thank you so much for adding your voice to the conversation today!!!

    Reply

  10. Lynda,

    For some reason I just found this comment and one from someone else in my spam folder. I'm not sure what happened. I'll have to swing by and read your thoughts! Great minds and all… 😉

    Reply

  11. Posted by Anonymous on January 24, 2014 at 11:33 AM

    This is Donna, I am behind on my emails but reading this today is exactly what I needed and also what I feel I need to share with a friend. Thank you. Great to be seeking with you. God is so good all the time.

    Reply

  12. Posted by Anonymous on January 24, 2014 at 11:35 AM

    Donna again. The added video is also perfect. God's continued blessings.

    Reply

  13. Donna, I'm glad that you found something here that God spoke to you through. I hope God's Spirit moves in your friend's life too. Thank you so much for seeking His presence! And for dropping in to chat with me!

    Carrie

    Reply

Leave a Reply

