Serenaded at the Crossroads


It must be the season for God to speak to me through songs I’ve never heard.

This afternoon as I was driving to school to do some grading a song came across 99.1 JoyFM, my local Christian station, that I had to turn up. I’d never heard it before, but when I heard the end of the first verse and the beginning of the chorus,“ ‘God, why don’t you do something?’ He said, ‘I did. I created you.’ If not us, then who,” I mentally froze.

What’s the name of this song and who sings it?

As soon as I got in my classroom I yanked out the phone and googled lyrics.

“Do Something” by Matthew West is what I discovered, but when I clicked on videos I noticed it showed the story behind the song.

Ok. I’m curious.

Pressed play. Started listening and the hair on my arms started standing straight up.

I have to ask, what did God create me to do?

My word for 2014 is seek

Jeremiah 29:13 is my focal verse: You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.

But back up from that a few verses.

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you a hope and a future.” Jeremiah 29:11 NIV

I absolutely know I’m standing at a crossroads right now. I have no idea what awaits down any possible path. I don’t even have a path picked out that I want to travel down.

I’m standing still. Waiting on God to do something. 

And then I hear this song. 

That I’ve never heard before. 

Minutes after a brief, yet heavy for me, conversation. 

In the middle of a ‘prayer’ to God about that same conversation.

Not yet, God. Right? I need more time off. More sabbatical. You can send someone else, and then maybe we can follow.

And then that song came on the radio.

Sigh.

Regardless of my discomfort, let me share the story behind the song and the song. It’s worth your time.

photo credit: timtom.ch via photopin cc
9 responses to this post.

  1. WOW! What a great song and a great story. I've had one of those “YOU do something moments” while on a mission trip to Jamaica about 3 years ago. And 4 months ago we brought home a 12 year old boy from an orphanage there. I NEVER thought this would be part of my life. MY PLAN was just to spend 10 days in the orphanage helping out in the school (I'm an educator). While I was there my heart just broke for the children and as I wondered what could be done, God told me “YOU can do something.”

    Reply

  2. Have you ever listened to Kari Jobe the more I seek you?

    Reply

  3. Posted by Anonymous on January 19, 2014 at 9:26 PM

    Thank you for listening and doing what He asked you to do.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Anonymous on January 19, 2014 at 9:30 PM

    Another wonderful song. I am so glad you mentioned it. I want to buy that one. My word for 2014 is seek too.

    Reply

  5. Ilesha,

    His plan is always greater than our plan! I have such a hard time holding on to that sometimes, since I am a planner. He takes our plans and uses them to His glory.

    How awesome to expand your family that way! What a blessing!

    Reply

  6. Darchelle,

    I am familiar with Kari Jobe, but I don't recognize the lyrics after looking it up. I will make a point to listen to that one tomorrow! Thank you for stopping in to chat! Please come back to chat again!!!!

    Reply

  7. Is this Donna? I had never heard this song until today. Turns out another friend heard this same song for the first time today in a similar circumstance. God works through radio stations!

    I am using my word through various posts as it fits. 🙂

    Reply

  8. Posted by Anonymous on January 19, 2014 at 9:37 PM

    This is Donna. I am also using Seek as my 2014 word. Your blog was inspiring and those who commented were also. I pray that God will give you exactly enough light to show you the next step to take and which direction to go. His word is light unto our path and a lamp unto our feet. Obedience does not always lead immediately to safety and ease but it always is according to his will. He works all things together for good. My you be blessed as you seek his will and plan for each step of your life.

    Reply

  9. Posted by Anonymous on January 19, 2014 at 9:38 PM

    Yes it is me. I can not figure out how to post as anything but annon. I will start always including my name. I did already in the last post.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

