Food, Music, Fuel



And now, dear brothers and sisters, one final thing. Fix your thoughts on what is true, and honorable, and right, and pure, and lovely, and admirable. Think about things that are excellent and worthy of praise. Philippians 4:8

We all know that what we put into our body fuels our body.

For example, when I choose to eat cookies, cake, chips, ice cream, and drink beverages full of sugar all day every day, well, I put on over ten pounds over Christmas break.

However, when I choose to eat primarily fruits, vegetables, protein, a specified amount of good carbs, and drink water at set times during the day every day, I lose weight or at least maintain.

This is common sense, although many of us choose to stick our heads in the sand and ignore it.

This concept applies to so many other aspects of life.

So, I love music. No surprise to those who know me.

I’ve spent the majority of my life immersed in Christian music: hymns, praise and worship, Southern gospel, contemporary Christian, Christian rock, and I’m sure I’m forgetting something. My kids knew only Christian music until they hit middle school age.

I communicate through music. I worship through music. I learn through music. Music speaks to me on an emotional level when other things can’t get through. Music is where I turn when I’m on top of the world and when I’m down in the depths of the valley of the shadow of death.

Many times a song will pop in my head out of nowhere, be exactly what I needed to hear, and stick there for days. It’s not an uncommon occurrence.

That’s almost what’s going on right now.

Last night at tabata class, a song came on. I almost started singing out loud.

My son says I did this at the gym frequently during the summer. It never happened.

Now, let me be honest here. I workout on my own to secular music. 

It’s not clean secular music. I wouldn’t share it with my Christian friends.

Why do I listen to it? It has the bpm (beats per minute) I need it to have to get my cardio at the pace I need to reach. It gets my heart rate up. It pushes me to go harder and faster.

So, it’s the station I work out to. 

Music is my language, so I’ve learned many of the songs that I didn’t already know. Now, when they come on I find myself ready to belt out lyrics.

Last night, the line that I was ready to jump in with in front of 20ish people, many who are Christians and who know my Christian testimony,

“And I might drink a little more than I should tonight”.

Yep, I almost sang along to “Give Me Everything” by Pitbull in the middle of my tabata class.

Those of you reading through challenges and hops who aren’t Christian probably don’t see a problem, but those of you Christian readers are either laughing or sending up prayers that I’ll get back on the straight and narrow.

Let me make the situation a little worse.

Do you want to know what song is on repeat in my brain? Now. This morning. Seventeen hours later.

Yep. You guessed it. I’m still singing that same song.

Just like the  types of food I fuel my body with, the types of music I fuel my body with affect me.

Think what we listen to, what we watch, what we read, the people we hang out with, the places we go don’t change us, don’t make us who we are?

Just like the food we put in our bodies, each of those things provide some kind of fuel, or stimulation, to our being. That fuel in turn converts into something else inside of us that motivates us to change to react to do.

Everything we allow in changes us in some way.

Positive or negative.

Today I’m praying that God will show me what I’m allowing, inviting even, into my being that I shouldn’t be. And what have I been neglecting to take in that would be the healthier choice.

photo credit: philipp daun via photopin cc
8 responses to this post.

  1. I totally agree with you! I am so thankful to have been raised listening to wholesome lyrics and that my kids run around the house singing praise songs. It is a great reminder to be so careful about what we let into our beings! Reminds me of the Casting Crowns song, “Slow Fade”. Thanks for the post!!

    Reply

  2. Music makes my world a lot more sane. Easily music brings me to another state. Music heals me. Music propels me.

    Reply

  3. I am jewish, and still laughed! I have stopped watching gory horror movies, most new shows, and control what music I listen to because when I listen or watch stuff that is too violent it disturbs me for weeks. I don't need that!
    http://pilatesandreiki.com/social-media-basics-pilates-teachers/

    Reply

  4. Oh gosh. I know that song, haha

    Reply

  5. Kristin,
    What a blessing to have been raised that way! I wasn't raised that way, but have chosen to live that way. I have raised my own kiddos that way. And, yes, “Slow Fade” would have been perfect for this post! Where were you when I was searching for a song? 🙂

    Thanks for stopping in! Please come back to chat again!

    Reply

  6. Joy, awesome way to describe what music means to you! It sounds like we feel about the same about music. Thank you for stopping in to join the conversation! How did you find my musings? Please drop in again!

    Reply

  7. Lynda, I have a jewish uncle and he probably would have just started singing! 🙂 What goes in must come out…or something like that. Thanks for dropping in again!!!!

    Reply

  8. Yeah, I'm thinking it's used a lot. I would have probably known it even if it wasn't on the Pandora station I work out to, but I still would have been embarrassed if I belted it out in tabata!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

