Back in My Day Is Today

“Well, back in my day…”

*we had to walk to school in the snow barefoot, uphill, both ways.

*children were to be seen not heard.

*people respected their elders.

*church services ran by the Spirit not by a clock.

*folks took care of one another.

This list could go on and on forever. Typically the platitudes on it being touted by someone who either is remembering and wishing for a far better time or someone who is bitter and angry at something going on now.

Have you ever wanted to look the person in the eye and say, “Are you dead? Because if not, then TODAY is your day.”

When we hold yesterday is such high-esteem that we disregard today, then we might as well have passed from this life to the next.

If the society, the culture, the times that I currently live in aren’t MY DAY then I’m the one who needs to change.


Whoa. Hold on there, Carrie. Are you saying that I need to accept all of these immoral behaviors running rampant as my own because this is my day?

Absolutely not.


I’m saying we need to seek God’s will for why we were placed here during this specific time in history. I’m saying that we need to be a present in the present instead of an eyesore. 

Teach us to number our days, 
that we may gain a heart of wisdom.
Relent, Lord! How long will it be?
Have compassion on your servants.
Satisfy us in the morning with your unfailing love,
that we may sing for joy and be glad all our days.
Make us glad for as many days as you have afflicted us,
for as many years as we have seen trouble.
May your deeds be shown to your servants,
your splendor to their children.
May the favor of the Lord our God rest on us;
establish the work of our hands for us–
yes, establish the work of our hands.
Psalm 90:12-17 NIV


Of course we’ve seen times of pain and sorrow, but we have had days of joy and gladness! Our days are not promised to last forever. In the Psalm above Moses mentions earlier that we have 70, maybe 80 if we’re blessed, years to live. How many of them do we dismiss by deciding yesterday was better than today? Or that the world is getting worse for tomorrow?

Just when Abram and Sarai thought they were down to a “back in my day” kind of existence, God brought them a baby. (Genesis 18 and Genesis 21)

Lot and his family were in a land where “back in my day” was looking a lot better, but God provided an escape route for them. Their instructions were pretty simple. Run and don’t look back. (Genesis 19)

How many of us are doing just that?


Looking back at what we’re leaving behind? Looking back at what hurt us and that we’re afraid if we forget we’ll give the power to hurt us again? Looking back at what might have been if we had made different choices.

Run and don’t look back.


But Lot’s wife looked back, and she became a pillar of salt. Genesis 19:26 NIV



Her days had been numbered. We could count them in the grains of salt like sand in an hourglass.

God hasn’t chosen to turn me into a pillar of salt today because of my choice to forfeit my TODAY, but have I done it to myself? 

My prayer today as I SEEK: teach me to number my days and to count each one as a gift from You. Help me to see You in everything I encounter–from the mundane chores, to the politics that infuriate me, to the people I come in personal contact with. I want to find JOY in works of my hands that You have established for me. Show me how to find it in the midst of my mess. Amen.

Are you missing moments because you’re too busy looking back? Don’t blink. It’ll all be gone and we’ll wonder what we missed while we were simply musing.

photo credit: Chris Blakeley via photopin cc
14 responses to this post.

  1. While I'm not religious, I'm a secular humanist, I agree that it is important that we treasure every day we have and to make it better in whatever little way we can.

    Reply

  2. You're right, it's important to look forward and not live in the past. We should use the past to learn from our mistakes and do better. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

  3. This is the day the Lord has made, let us rejoice and be glad in it. Ps 118:24
    Whenever I look back when I should be looking forward this verse comes to mind. Gets me back on track every time.

    Reply

  4. Thanks for adding your voice to the conversation, Nicole! If we would all do our little part to improve the corner we're planted in, then regardless of our beliefs, this world would be a brighter place! I hope you'll drop in again!!!!

    Reply

  5. Salma, I am so glad you stopped in today! If we don't remember our past, then we are destined to repeat it. It is very important that we remember our past, but we must not camp out in it.

    Please jump in on our conversations here any day! I love to chat!!!!

    Reply

  6. Patricia,

    What a great scripture to add to the conversation! I know that scripture as a song and now I'll be singing it the rest of the day! What a great way to seek Him this evening!!!

    Thank you for stopping in to chat! Hope to see you again tomorrow.

    Reply

  7. great inspirational post. We cannot move forward looking back because it is unfeasible to move forward if we always look back at things.

    Reply

  8. You have so much wisdom! I love the idea of making the day you are in your own, and making it as beautiful and loving as you can.

    Reply

  9. Today is a gift from God. He made it 24 hours long and then He gives me a new one. If I am too busy worrying about the ones He gave me before how am I going to treasure the one He has given me today?

    Lovely post.

    Reply

  10. So beautifully written and so thoughtfully sewn together. You are right on, Carrie… and thank you for the comment on my blog, too!

    Reply

  11. Amarnaik, Amen. Thank you so much for adding your voice to the conversation! Please stop in again!!!

    Reply

  12. Thanks for dropping in, Sonya! I'm no so sure about having wisdom, but thank you for the compliment. I just try to follow the leading of the Lord.

    Reply

  13. Onepairofshoesatatime, treasure…that word keeps popping up in conversations I'm involved in this week. Yes, we must treasure each moment we are given. Thank you for adding your voice to the conversation! I'm now tuning in to 'treasure' again.

    Reply

  14. Hi, Julie! Glad you stopped in. Thank you so much for the sweet words. I often feel like my words are disjointed rambling much like the thoughts in my head. I hope, occasionally, they do flow well enough that someone can follow my train of thought.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

