Ministering Electronic Messages


We then who are strong ought to bear with the scruples of the weak, and not to please ourselves. Let each of us please his neighbor for his good, leading to edification. Romans 15:1-2


A week before Christmas I received an unexpected text message from an acquaintance looking for a person (recommendation, not me) to serve in ministry. A few days after that a message from someone I served on a committee with who had just heard that I’d stepped down from the Associational VBS Director position (I resigned in October. We have a bit of a communication breakdown somewhere.). And not long after I stepped into that conversation, I was tagged in some pictures of a gift I gave someone that their family was having fun with.

I mentioned how stressful holidays are for me in this post, so I won’t go over that again. However, as I sat down and did my Bible reading this morning I couldn’t help but think about how much a person’s outlook can change in just a few weeks.

See, I live my faith out loud. You don’t have to know me well to know that. I don’t claim to be perfect, don’t try to hide my sin behind my Bible, my works, or my church attendance, but I’m not quiet about who I am. 

But for the last three months, I have almost lived my faith in silence. 

And until the above mentioned contacts, I probably would have continued on that path of silence. 

Why would someone who lives their faith so loudly go silent so quickly? Because.


Because I was tired.
Because I was worn out.
Because I felt like a failure.
Because I didn’t want to have to pretend to be happy.
Because I felt like I was letting everyone else down.
Because it was quiet in the cave and no one even tried to follow me in.

Then right before Christmas God sent some individuals to contact me, via electronic communication 🙂 , and start waking me back up. 

I want to encourage us, this morning, to be faithful in the small things. If you were to ask any of the three individuals who sent me something before Christmas if they had any idea God was using them to loose the scales from my eyes, I don’t believe any one of them could tell you yes. 

Yet everyone of those communications was a direct message to me from God.

You are still part of the Church. 

Someone does notice that you have left. 

Your gifts, even when they seem small, can be used by Me.

You see, even those of us who talk directly to God regularly need to see Him through the love of other humans. Reach out to someone today. Even if it seems small and inconsequential. It could be the difference between blindness and sight for that individual! 

photo credit: SeeMidTN.com (aka Brent) via photopin cc

13 responses to this post.

  1. I love your positive outlook, and appreciate that you shared these uplifting moments. It's wonderful that you take your own experiences and use them to minister to others! I feel closer to my faith now than I ever have before, and it's because of people like you.

    Reply

  2. Oh, how this needs to be seen by church members everywhere. I haven't been to the church I am still a member of in going on two years and hardly anyone has contacted me. No one has followed up with me. Nothing. I was a Sunday School teacher, active in programs – but zilch. Nada, nothing.

    I keep thinking about going to a different church – but I haven't visited though I have been invited to several. Perhaps YOU are my electronic message from God because I was two people below you in the Ultimate Blog Challenge comment chain?

    Reply

  3. Sonya,

    That is so awesome to hear!!!! It seems that in my journey right now I am surrounded by people being let down by the very ones who should be lifting them up and ministering to them. I find great hope in the testimony that the world is FULL of Christians speaking up and out for the truth God has given them!

    Thank you for stopping in and feel free to drop by any time! I LOVE to chat!

    Reply

  4. I'm so happy for you that God has encouraged you. Sometimes it is darkest just before dawn. I try to remember this when I feel really down and like God has forgotten me.
    I feel that I need to learn to be patient and have faith that God has something planned for me and it will all come at the right moment.
    I'm just not very good with the patience yet 🙂

    Reply

  5. Julie,

    Your story is very similar to one I am hearing over and over and over in the past few weeks. The three communications I received? Two of them got very specific thank yous for reaching out. Until one of them, no one has asked why I'm making any of the changes I'm making.

    We've been visiting churches for the past three months. Very few of them have reached out to us in any way that might entice us to want to join them. It seems the “church” has become somewhat impersonal or distant with it's relationships. I sure don't see that example set forth by Jesus.

    However, we have found that there are churches that DO reach out to humanity. That DO exhibit love. That ARE living out the great commission! And I would almost guarantee there are some of those in your area too!

    I'm praying that God will send a NEXT divine appointment to you ASAP to lead you straight to their door! Until then, you're always welcome to come hang out and chat with me!

    Reply

  6. Joanna,

    I was thinking about patience and waiting while I was in the McDonalds drive-thru today. Sometimes I actually crave the wait. Sounds crazy, doesn't it? But there is quiet time in the waiting. Time to pray, time to read, time to sit still and listen.

    Yes, in the midst of this instant gratification, drive-thru society, sometimes I'm disappointed when I don't get my wait time.

    Thank you so much for stopping by! I love to chat and would love for you to drop by any time!!!!

    Reply

  7. Carrie Ann, I can so related to your time in the “silent” phase. I have been there! And what you say it so true, you never know how “big” your small gesture towards someone else may be. So, with that, let me say that I am so thankful that I found your blog through the UBC. Blessings!

    Reply

  8. It is wonderful when you can actually see God working in your life. To me, that is the biggest faith builder of all. ♥

    Reply

  9. Julie, I would like to encourage you to visit one of those churches you have been invited to. It is very hard to be a visitor in a new church especially when you have been hurt deeply by another church. But, our faith is in God in not man. That is the lesson that I had to understand in this same situation. My family has spent the last 6 months looking for a church after being hurt and leaving our old church. We took our time and waited on God. And some Sundays it was just easier to not go to church because the hurt was burning pretty badly that day. Something else that I had to remember was that when I started looking for a perfect church that I made it imperfect as soon as I came with all my flaws. I heard that in a sermon preached in Bible college about 20 years, but didn't really apply it until today. I love what Carrie said about living her faith out loud and not hiding her sins away. Wow. That is authentic Christianity. Satan wants us to be unhappy, he wants strife in the churches, and he wants to see us pull away from the Lord. But, “greater is that is in me, than he that is in the world. God is greater and He will pull us through. And He can use any situation for His glory. Have a blessed day!

    Reply

  10. I need to add that God has led us to another church where we feel loved and are able to worship. He can do the same for anyone!

    Reply

  11. Marla,

    Thanks for stopping to add that! In the past three weeks I have had several individuals/families share similar stories with me. I am disappointed by the lack of relationship the church (as a whole) seems to be demonstrating in our society.

    I knew you would be able to add HOPE to this situation! Thank you for sharing your testimony and being an encourager!

    Reply

  12. Ilesha,

    Thank you so much for stopping by and joining in the conversation! I have found several new sisters in Christ through the UBC, and you are one of them! I was just telling my husband about your blog on our way to dinner last night.

    Reply

  13. Hi, Kathy! The billboard moments sometimes seem huge, but in hindsight, usually a long way down the road, I can see just how much my faith was built when there weren't any billboards to point me along the way. However, if it weren't for those faithful enough to do the little things, we might get a little sidetracked in our wilderness wandering or our time spent hiding in the cave.

    I am so thankful for those willing to be my billboards even when they had no idea how God was using them!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

