God Doesn’t Throw Bones


But He answered and said, “It is not good to take the children’s bread and throw it to the little dogs.” 
And she said, “Yes, Lord, yet even the little dogs eat the crumbs which fall from their masters’ table.” 
Then Jesus answered and said to her, “O woman, great is your faith! Let it be to you as you desire.” And her daughter was healed from the very hour. Matthew 15:26-28 NKJV

This morning as I was going through my daily routine a little something was not what I expected it to be. Perhaps God is throwing me a bone! I thought to myself as I headed to the laundry room.

Yes. That really is the thought that crossed my mind. God throwing me a bone.

If I hadn’t actually thought it, it might almost be funny! 

Even though I often throw bones at God, He has ALWAYS given His best without me EVER doing anything to deserve it.

How do I know? John 3:16, Jeremiah 29:11, Ephesians 2:8-9, and I could go on forever, but I’ll stop there for today.

And there in the midst of my morning routine, came a whisper. What you do or don’t do won’t change the fact that I love you and will give My best for you.

Thanksgiving, Christmas Eve, Christmas, family get-togethers, and just the holiday season in general for me, are all triggers of negative emotions. I become overly anxious and stressed during this season of great joy, peace, and love. It would be fair to say that at lot of the time I’m almost a different person. A very angry, bitter person. 

I snap a lot. I disagree with everything. I obsess over little things. I measure myself against this invisible scale and always find myself lacking. 

I’m not earning God’s love right now.

Add to that stress the fact that our “religious” routine is also not routine right now. What started out as MY sabbatical wound up merely weeks in with my family joining me. 

So, we have been on a journey of sorts. To hear from God. 

We’ve been in a church every week. We’ve been to some more than once. 

Scripture tells us if we seek Him, He shall be found. I have to tell you, I don’t believe church is the only place to seek God. We attend church because scripture tells us not to forsake the gathering together of ourselves (Hebrews 10:25) and because we crave the time of learning and studying God’s word with fellow believers. 

We have sought God in the church. We have heard His word preached in truth. 

But I, the one seeking His will, have not heard from God through His mouthpieces. 

Until my toes were thoroughly trampled in a cave (Post about that in link). After processing the fact that three months in, I’m finally hearing something, a book I started reading a couple years ago was brought to mind. 

I retrieved the book, opened to the marked page (from probably a year ago or more), realized it was a page into the chapter so left the bookmark where it was and went back to the beginning. Well, let me share with you what I found at the bookmark:

“This can happen to anyone. The prophet Elijah had reached a high point of his life when he defeated the prophets of Baal. … But God is the great healer. He had Elijah take a nap and eat a snack, and then he did a little divine cognitive therapy to replace each of these life-killing thoughts.” -taken from The Me I Want to Be by John Ortberg

I read those few paragraphs, stared at the book, looked at Chris, and said, “I’m putting this book back where I found it for a few more years. This isn’t even a little bit funny.” 

I handed him the marked passage to read. As he handed the book back to me I asked, “What are the odds of that?”

I don’t believe in coincidence. I do believe that God speaks to His children both in His time and when they are ready to listen. He will use any and all methods necessary.

I would willingly accept even a bone thrown by the Master. He most definitely isn’t throwing me a bone, however. Whatever work He is completing will be nothing less than His best.

photo credit: sbluerock via photopin cc

One response to this post.

  1. I used to think of that bone scripture as demeaning, but I realized that we are deserving of nothing from God. Everything we get good & bad is a blessing. The great thing is God desires to share His kingdom with us.

    Good post!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

