7 Rs of Bible Use: What Are You Using Yours For?

In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. John 1:1

 
“What are you using your Bible for?” is the question our pastor asked this past Sunday.
     Is it a coincidence that due to a blog post that Kyle Labosky posted in our Christian Blogger’s Community on G+ a few weeks ago that I was already thinking about my personal relationship with Jesus Christ and what that made the Bible to me? I don’t think so.


And the Word became flesh and dwelt among us, and we beheld His glory, the glory as of the only begotten of the Father, full of grace and truth. John 1:14


      My Grandma Anna Mae sings a song called “I’m Using My Bible for a Roadmap”, and after my own thought, which I’ll share in a later post, that was my second thought.

      Hmmmm. Just how many things are we using the Bible for?

      • Roadmap (Instruction, guidance, direction)
      • Research (Learn, history, study)
      • Rescue (Help, counsel, comfort)
      • Romance (Love letter, Types & Shadows, Christ the     Bridegroom)
      • Representation (Membership Card, identification, proof)
      • Reach (Preach, teach, evangelize)
      • Redemption (Roman’s Road, leading other’s to Christ, salvation)

          Seven broad topics for Bible use. Some of them seem “better” than others, don’t they?

           You may have noticed I didn’t include dust collector or coffee table decoration. Are those really uses?

           What are you currently using your Bible for? I say “currently” because I believe we go through stages in life where we are looking for different things. I’m in a research stage right now, however, I’m always willing to be in the reach and redemption stages.

           Lord willing, we’ll be looking at each of these individually, but for now, join in the conversation! What are you using your Bible for?
photo credit: Ryk”>http://www.flickr.com/photos/rykneethling/5811115037/”>Ryk Neethling
via photopinhttp://photopin.com”>photopin> cchttp://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0/”>cc>

2 responses to this post.

  1. Reflection (allowing truth to identify who I really am)

    Doh now that's gone and messed up the 7 R's

    Reply

  2. What a beautiful post; thank you! I'm using my Bible for Restoration: When I'm in the Word, the World gives me a breather!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

