Not a Slave Anymore


Today, on my daughter’s birthday, I printed out pictures for her end of the year social studies project. The last two pictures she needed represented slavery.

The first picture she chose had a red background and hands in handcuffs. As far as slavery went, it was a pretty tame picture. I wasn’t sure that she had chose well for the depth of her timeline project. The second picture, however, was a man severely beaten with deep lash marks.

It was graphic. Even when I printed it in black and white.

I thought about telling her to pick something else. That picture was too intense. Too violent. Not really school appropriate.

Tonight I was reading in John 8 about the truth making us free. Jesus was teaching, but the Jews who were listening questioned Him.

The answered Him, “We are Abraham’s descendants, and have never been in bondage to anyone. How can You say, ‘You will be made free’?”


Jesus answered them, “Most assuredly, I say to you, whoever commits sin is a slave of sin. And a slave does not abide in the house forever, but a son abides forever. Therefore if the Son makes you free, you shall be free indeed.” John 8:33-36

 

 
 
I’ve never been a slave like the man my daughter placed on her historical timeline. Have you?

In this day and age, probably not.

As a matter of fact, I happen to live in the United States of America, land of the free. I am free. Does Jesus declaration that the truth shall make me free apply to me?

Absolutely.

The Jews in this scene were confused because they hadn’t been enslaved by any other human. However, Jesus was quick to clear up the definition of slave.


Whoever commits sin is a slave of sin.

I don’t know about you, but despite my citizenship, my socioeconomic status, my genealogy, or my heritage, I have (and do commit) committed sins. Therefore, I can’t say I’ve never been a slave.

There’s GREAT news, though.

A slave can’t live in the house forever, only a son can do that. But when the Son makes you free (from sin), then you are no longer bound by your sin.

Praise the Lord! Thank God I am FREE!

I may bear the scars from my time in slavery, but those lash marks don’t condemn me any longer. They serve to remind me where I’ve been and what I’ve been saved from, but they don’t hold me down!

God is a God of freedom not a God of slavery. There isn’t a list of demands in the Bible, but a letter of love.

If being set free doesn’t make ya want to shout, well, then it’s about time you experience it for yourself. 😉

 

photo credit: Frederico”>http://www.flickr.com/photos/vonfreud/3534023197/”>Frederico Marques
via photopinhttp://photopin.com”>photopin> cchttp://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc/2.0/”>cc>

Leave a Reply

