Is Your Name Important?


Names are important.

Many times I forget that. I struggle to remember people’s names. I’m bad at it.

So, I come up with ways to not have to say someone’s name. Typically it works for me.

However, several months ago an individual was bubbling over with excitement as they told me that someone knew their name. I wasn’t surprised that the “someone” knew their name, but the individual was and it made a huge impact.

Their excitement over someone knowing their name made an impact on me.

I made sure to tell the someone that the individual noticed that they had been called by name and that they were very impressed. I also made a promise to myself to find some new strategies.

Strategies to remember people’s names instead of strategies to get by when I couldn’t remember their names.

I have had many names throughout the years. My parents and sisters called me Carrie. My grandmother, Carrie Ann. My late grandfather called me Fred. I still smile when I hear that name.

I was called nerd, geek, ugly, surfboard, snitch, goody-two-shoes, loud, weird, different, and a host of other words with negative connotations.

I’ve been called wife, mom, Mrs. Tripp, energetic, crazy, tough, strict, mean, intense, beautiful, hot, rebel, conservative, and holy roller.

I’ve been called many, many things I haven’t listed here. Some of them I’ve been called by others, and many of them I’ve been called by myself.

But there is one name that outranks all of them.

My real name is Child of the One True King.


Behold what manner of love the Father has bestowed on us, that we should be called children of God! Therefore the world does not know us, because it did not know Him. Beloved, now we are children of God; and it has not yet been revealed what we shall be, but we know that when He is revealed, we shall be like Him, for we shall see Him as He is. 1 John 3:1-2

It doesn’t matter what names the world gives me, nor even what names I give myself. It has not yet been revealed what I shall be. Other than His child!


And that nametag is one I am PROUD to wear!!!!

More about the song.

 photo credit: maybeemilyhttp://www.flickr.com/photos/mlebemle/3511330328/”>maybeemily
> via photopinhttp://photopin.com”>photopin> cchttp://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/2.0/”>cc>

One response to this post.

  1. Hi Carrie, I was interested to read your post as I have recently been thinking again about the importance of our name. My husband wants to divorce soon. Earlier I had thought that I'd keep his surname so that I'd still be the same as our kids…but I am very hurt and have been again thinking do I want his surname attached to me? Then I think that does this matter as I am who I am in Christ?
    Love Melanie 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

