Choose to Seek Ask & Knock



Earlier this week I came across a “random” post on facebook that really caught my heart and mind.


Michael Goldsmith

April 29 via Twitter

If you’re waiting around for someone to pick you to do something great, you’re losing valuable time. Choose yourself & seize an opportunity.


Two sentences smacked me right upside the head.

So, I did what any self-respecting person would do when confronted by their conscience via a random facebook post at 6 AM in the morning: Minimized the facebook screen and started browsing my G+ communities!

Guess what the first thing I came across was?
Tim Young’s Post about wanting to be picked for something that linked to an interview with author Seth Godin. I absolutely didn’t have time for that, so I filed it away for later.


Surely it couldn’t be coincidence that I came across the same topic twice immediately up waking and logging into two different social media sites.
After school I came home and read a blog by Seth Godin on getting picked.


Yes, I’m guilty of waiting around to be chosen.

Yes, I’m guilty of feeling worthless or left out because I’m the last one standing when teams are chosen.

Yes, I’m guilty of knowing what I’m supposed to do, but not doing it because no one asked me to.

Yes, I have dreams that I’m not really going after because I’m waiting on someone else to notice and offer me an easy solution.

No, I haven’t yet been brave enough to choose myself.

“Ask, and it will be given to you; seek, and you will find; knock, and it will be opened to you. For everyone who asks receives, and he who seeks finds, and to him who knocks it will be opened.” Matthew 7:7-8


Today, Tim Young posted this link to his blog on G+. Yes, I’m starting to get the picture.


I started blogging religiously (tee hee hee) in October. My goal, or promise to myself, was that if I could be consistent and develop a writing habit that this summer I’d take on the novel I’ve been planning to write for years.

Schools out in two weeks. The first twenty days my kids will be in summer school and my husband will go to work. I’m not teaching summer school.

I’ve developed consistency in my writing.

But no one chose me.

No one has told me I’m good enough. No one has asked me to do this. No one has invited me into their critique group. No one’s offered me a contract. A sure thing.

I’m waiting.

Waiting for someone to choose me.

But the truth is, I have a dream. I have some ability. I believe God made me with the dreams and abilities I have. And I believe that all Scripture is true.

Ask and is shall be given.

Seek and ye shall find.

Knock and it will be opened.

I am dreaming and desiring, but I have to ask, seek, and knock.

See, He’s already chosen me. He’s already said that if I’ll seek Him, ask Him, and know, He will respond.

I don’t want to put myself out there and say I’ll do this writing thing because I might fail. I guess you could say I don’t want to choose me because I might let me down.

But there’s a flip side to my fear. See, God’s already said if I’ll ask, seek, and knock that He’ll respond better than an earthly father. So if I don’t choose myself I’m saying I don’t trust God enough to give Him my dreams.

Yeah, it’s time to set the next goal.
photo credit: dtcchchttp://www.flickr.com/photos/dtchristner/2491654751/”>dtcchc
> via photopinhttp://photopin.com”>photopin> cchttp://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nd/2.0/”>cc>

Leave a Reply

