Which is More Urgent? Diarrhea or God?


Have you ever been traveling in a rural area when your bowels become plagued with diarrhea? No gas stations, well, except in your vehicle. No restaurants. No stores with public restrooms. Absolutely nowhere to stop and use a restroom.

All of the sudden you find yourself overtaken by two things: panic and urgency.

Your eyes begin darting furtively from one side of the road to the next, frantically flashing down side streets, straining to see as far ahead as possible hoping against all odds to see the neon lights of any public building.

You’re clenching muscles you didn’t even know you had.

Pleading with Mother Nature, with your digestive tract, with God to please let this moment pass. Please just let it go away at least until you make it home.

You try to depress the gas pedal to move down the highway faster, but the motion releases the muscle control that you desperately need in other areas. So you ease off the accelerator and go back into to clinch mode.

Around the next corner, to your relief, is the glow of neon lights. You whip into a parking spot, barrel out of the car barely before you get it parked, and do a shuffling run into the bathroom.

I don’t know about you, but I have issues with public bathrooms. I really can’t use them.

But there comes a time, a time of panic and urgency, when I can forget the fact that I’m in a public bathroom.

I have to wonder, is it more urgent to seek a bathroom when plagued with diarrhea or is it more urgent to seek God?

O God, You are my God; Early will I seek You; My soul thirsts for You; My flesh longs for You In a dry and thirsty land Where there is no water. So I have looked for You in the sanctuary, To see Your power and Your glory. Psalm 63:1-2


Are we seeking Him early? Or do we wait until we’re in crisis mode? Until we have diarrhea of faith?

Seek the Lord while He may be found, Call upon Him while He is near. Isaiah 55:6


It just so happens that I’ve found myself in the above mentioned scenario a time or two. Being diagnosed with IBS, means I actually know where just about every gas station with a clean restroom is located. However, we do live in a very rural area, and they’re very few and far between.

Every once in a while I decide I can make it home and choose not to stop. It never fails that I decide this just as I pass the last possible place to stop before home. And it never fails that home is usually anywhere from 10-18 miles away without anyplace else to stop.

Sometimes we make the rational decision to wait to seek God.

Perhaps we’re under the misguided impression that we can handle the situation on our own and don’t need to bother him. Or perhaps we’re certain there will be other opportunities when it’s more convenient.

Isaiah 55:6 has always made me a little uncomfortable, though. While He may be found indicates that the Lord won’t always be able to be sought. There is a limit to the time we have to seek Him.

We should be seeking Him with the same urgency we seek a restroom when our bowels are screaming because our soul and our flesh are screaming out for Him.

Where do our priorities lie? In a restroom or in a Savior?

 
photo credit: Bludgeoner86http://www.flickr.com/photos/bludgeoner86/6624819117/”>Bludgeoner86
> via photopinhttp://photopin.com”>photopin> cchttp://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0/”>cc>

6 responses to this post.

  1. LOVE this post. I happened to write about poo & toilets this week too on FYBF! Haha. I love the reference to a 'diarrhea of faith'. That would be me most of the time. Thanks for the laugh & the challenge to seek God while he may be found.

    Reply

  2. Hi! Found you on A Mommy's Blog Design blog hop. This is hilarious! I needed a good read to make me smile, so thanks for sharing! Now following via G+.
    ~Jackie @ The Non-Martha Momma

    Reply

  3. Ha ha! I love the analogy and I can't say it's ever one I would have thought of. I know I don't have the same kind of desperation I would have in that same situation. This was very challenging.

    Reply

  4. 🙂 There's nothing more funny or relatable than a movement. 😉 Thanks for stopping by to visit!!!

    Reply

  5. Thank you for stopping by to visit and follow!! My words had been a little dry lately and I needed to lighten up the time.

    Nothing like a bathroom story to do that!

    Reply

  6. I don't either, but I'd like to! Too absolutely seek Him with that intensity would change my life. I'd like to see what that kind of life looks like!

    Thank you for stopping by to visit,!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

