Praying for a Rushing Mighty Wind


I’ve prayed many times for God to send a mighty rushing wind. Many times, for many reasons.

For example, years ago when I volunteered as a counselor at Teen Camp, it was always in the hottest part of July. Church services at night were in the chapel. An old building sitting off the river, nestled under the trees. With screen for windows, and a few ceiling fans lazily spinning to move the air around.

Stirring the humidity is all we did. I always felt sorry for the evangelist. Filled with the Spirit and preaching with sweat blurring their eyes and running into their mouths. So I would pray for God to send a mighty rushing wind to drop the temperature so that they could preach in comfort.

Or sometimes even for a wind to come and blow away the “new” evangelists notes so he would have to rely on Holy Spirit for the message. Yeah, I believe God works through a willing vessel and the He provides the words.

And I’ll never forget the summer my husband mowed the church yard and cemetery to help make ends meet. One unbearably hot day I prayed for a mighty rushing wind to cool him down. He came home talking about how he stopped to pray for some relief from the heat and he watched a funnel cloud drop, pick up leaves, blow through the yard all around him for quite a few minutes, exactly like God said, “Ok.”

But there’s an even bigger reason that I pray for a rushing mighty wind. I’m still believing that I’m going to see it happen someday soon.


When the Day of Pentecost had fully come, they were all with one accord in one place. And suddenly there came a sound from heaven, as of a rushing mighty wind, and it filled the whole house where they were sitting. Then there appeared to them divided tongues, as of fire, and one sat upon each of them. And they were all filled with the Holy Spirit and began to speak with other tongues, as the Spirit gave them utterance. Acts 2:1:4

I have tried to envision this scene for years. I wrote a blog post about it in 2009. And a song several years before that. This scene inspires me, it motivates me, it moves me.


I imagine the people in their robes and those robes blowing straight out as the rushing might wind comes in blaring!!! Can you see the looks on their faces? There’s no time for them to try to hold their clothes down! It would be fruitless to even attempt it.

Then just as they adjust to the sound and feel of this insane wind, fire shaped like tongues comes to rest on each one of them! Do they try to put the fire out? Attempt to knock it off? Or just stand in awe and wonder as this phenomenon takes over?

And that’s when it really gets good.

They all become filled with the Holy Spirit and begin to speak in other tongues.

Take this gathering of the saints and compare it to your church service this past Sunday. Yes, Easter Sunday.

Was your church service ordered? Did it follow a pre-planned order that was perhaps printed in a bulletin or projected on a screen? Was there room in our schedule event this past Sunday morning for the Holy Spirit to rush in or would His grand entrance have been an inconvenience?

Sometimes we plan God right out of our church program.

I was praying to see the ties in the congregation flying. I was praying for someone to get called into ministry, someone to answer the call to missions, and I was absolutely praying for some salvation decisions to be made. It would have made my day to hear someone speak in tongues during the prayer. Yes, right there in our little old country church.

But sometimes my prayers and my plans don’t match up.

Many years ago, when I was focusing more on writing music than blog posts, I was inspired by Acts 2 to write these lyrics:

I want to feel Your Spirit

Deep inside my soul

Your hand upon my shoulder

Prompting me to go.

My prayer, my Lord and Savior

Your will I want to know

I want to feel Your Spirit

Deep inside my soul.

In a world so full of problems

It’s so easy to get drug down

I sit and watch day in day out

As smiles turn in to frowns

Countless empty hearts and lives

Ripped to shred and then thrown down

They need Your Holy Spirit

To turn their lives around

I want to feel Your Spirit

Deep inside my soul

Your hand upon my shoulder

Prompting me to go.

My prayer, my Lord and Savior

Your will I want to know

I want to feel Your Spirit

Deep inside my soul.

Show us where to go, Lord

And teach us what to do

So that others may see through us

To the Savior’s love so true

We lift to You our voices

We lift our hands high too

Reign down Your Holy Spirit

Let us live our lives for You!

WE want to feel Your Spirit

Deep inside our souls

Your hand upon our shoulders

Prompting us to go.

My prayer, my Lord and Savior

Your will I want to know

I want to feel Your Spirit

Deep inside my soul.

You see, I don’t believe what happened in Acts 2 was only for that one group of believers that one time in history. I believe it’s for all of us.

How do you feel about this infilling of the Holy Spirit in Acts 2? How does it apply to you personally or does it? I’m going to talk about this a little more in another post, but I’d like to get some feedback from you all!

{We’re journeying through Acts 2. You can read Reaction to Rushing Might Wind here.}
 photo credit: courambelhttp://www.flickr.com/photos/courambel/2324091784/”>courambel

> via photopinhttp://photopin.com”>photopin> cchttp://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc/2.0/”>cc>

11 responses to this post.

  1. Beautiful post… and I really love the lyrics. You're very talented.

    Reply

  2. Awww…what a sweet thing to say! I don't feel talented, nor do I think I even come close to comparing to the hordes who do these things professionally or even semi-professionally, but I like to try.

    Reply

  3. You could get that song published its awesome. Artists do buy songs to sing. Jimmies uncle sold a song to kenny chesney.

    Reply

  4. I have personally experienced the in-rushing of the Holy Spirit. It is something I will never forget and something I must share and help bring to others. God is good!

    Reply

  5. PTL!!! Yes, keep sharing and bringing!!! Have you written about the experience? I'd love to read it!

    Reply

  6. Thank you for sharing your heart! Your lyrics are inspired & beautiful. Thank you for being bold in sharing this.

    -Molly

    http://faithfulfrugalfashionista.blogspot.com/

    Reply

  7. Carrie, you are funny and have a wonderful imagination. I could see the scenes you described very clearly! I like the poem too. Thanks for this wonderful post. ~Tim

    Reply

  8. Molly, I LOVE the background on your blog!!! How fun! Thank you for reading and the encouraging comment! Please drop by any time!

    Reply

  9. Thank you for the encouragement, Tim. Sometimes I wonder if anyone truly reads, and then I have a post that actually gets authentic feedback! It is greatly appreciated!

    Reply

  10. Anna, Thanks for the encouragement! That's awesome that his uncle was able to sell a song!!!!

    Reply

  11. Finally linking up with my Friday Flash Blog community. Thanks for linking up and sharing in the fun! Have a terrific week and see you on Friday.

    Jennifer
    http://www.TheJennyEvolution.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

