Personal Responsibility for Fewer Believers


And Jesus came and spoke to them, saying, “All authority has been given to Me in heaven and on earth. Go therefore and make disciples of all the nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, teaching them to observe all things that I have commanded you; and lo, I am with you always, even to the end of the age.” Amen. Matthew 28:18-20


Yesterday I wrote about believing in the resurrection of Jesus Christ, Finding a Piece of Peace. This evening I logged onto facebook and discovered a friend had posted the most recent statistics on Americans who believe in the resurrection.


How do you think Americans belief compares to last year?
According to this article the Rasmussen reports that since last year there was a 13% decrease in Americans believing that the resurrection of Jesus Christ is a historical fact.


13% decrease in one calendar year.

Christian friends, not only are we not moving forward, but we are straight up backsliding ourselves. The people sharing our pews don’t even accept the resurrection as fact. How can we expect non-believers to accept the resurrection as fact if we don’t believe it ourselves?

After Jesus’ resurrection and before He ascended He gave some instructions to the disciples.

I can’t speak for you, but I think that I need to listen to this commission, pray that God would send me, and be intentional in my teaching.

That commission? It wasn’t meant just for those eleven men. No, it applies to each of us who have been redeemed by His blood.

First, we must go. No more sitting on the sidelines and waiting for someone else to do it or even someone else to walk beside us while we do it. I must get up and go.

Then we must make disciples. It isn’t enough for me to point someone in the right direction and then hope and pray they find their way. It’s my responsibility to take them under my wing, shepherd them to the Shepherd, and then walk beside them as the grow.

Baptize them in the name of the Father, and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit. Is salvation all I have to do? Based on the Great Commission, no. Salvation then baptism. However, baptism doesn’t bring about salvation. Jesus Himself was baptized. If He’s our example, then we too should be baptized.

Finally we should teach them to observe all the things that Jesus has commanded us to observe. Sometimes this one is tough. We want to let people figure it out on their own. We don’t want to step on someone’s toes or hurt their feelings. Unfortunately, Jesus tells us to teach them to observe all things that He has commanded us to observe. We don’t get a by here. No excuses. We must teach.

If I lived this out everyday of my life I don’t think 13% of Americans would have stopped believing this year.

Do I think that highly of myself? Absolutely not. I think I’m not doing what I’ve been instructed to do, and that if I was others would be being influenced for Christ.

Every person I influence for Christ would then in turn influence someone else for Christ, who would influence someone else for Christ, who would influence someone else for Christ, who would influence someone else for Christ, who would, well, you get the idea, right?

It wouldn’t take too many of us doing what we were commissioned to do before that 13% decline would instead be a 13% increase.

So as I look inside myself, as I internalize that 13% decline, as I take it personal instead of blaming someone else, I have to wonder, am I alone? Am I the only one who dropped the ball this year?

Because the truth is, if we aren’t part of the solution (the increase) we are part of the problem (the decrease). What are we intentionally doing to live out the Great Commission in 2013?

photo credit: romana”>http://www.flickr.com/photos/nauright/7504203798/”>romana klee via photopinhttp://photopin.com”>photopin> cchttp://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.0/”>cc>

4 responses to this post.

  1. Media and educational conditioning combined with fluoride and other toxins making brains less useful are more to blame than you or I; however, we are tasked with bearing more fruit and I have come to believe that means being a light in the world and personally bringing people to Jesus.

    Most who claim to be Christians are deceived. They do not follow Jesus – they put the pursuit of money first. They believe they have to “earn a living” and do not trust that God will provide as He says He does. Very few truly surrender their lives to Jesus and trust in God.

    People need to get serious about what is important. They need to question everything and not try to hold two opposing belief systems at the same time. That is illogical and proves you aren't thinking for yourself.

    Time is short. The last Pope is on his throne. Society is in moral decay. Fools who believe they know better than God are destroying the planet at a record pace. The Mark of the Beast system is continually being promoted as the next great thing. Decide soon or it will be too late.

    Jesus directed the disciples to go in WHERE THEY WERE INVITED. He did not expect them to save those who were not interested. They were to deliver the Good News. It is up to each of us to then decide to follow Jesus or not follow Him.

    Reply

  2. I started my blog, Facebook page, Twitter and Google+ to do just this. I am introverted so have always had a hard time opening up to people in person. I pray daily that God helps me to open up and share the Gospel openly to all. I am getting much better and hope by next year I am part of the solution that breaks away at that 13% decline.

    Reply

  3. Thank you so much for dropping by and adding your thoughts on this topic.

    “People need to get serious about what is important.” Amen! That is exactly what will change the decline in how many of us believe. When we get our priorities straight and do what we've been called to do is when we will see souls saved.

    Reply

  4. We all have a job to do. One plants, one waters, and one reaps. That doesn't make any one job more important than the other, however, if any one of us chooses NOT to do our job that will create huge problems.

    I, too, am working to be a solution to the 13% decline.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

