Finding a Piece of Peace



Why do some people still choose to doubt that Jesus is the son of God? And pray tell me why they still choose to doubt that He was resurrected on the third day?

Scripture has been validated over and over and yet still some choose not to believe.

And after eight days His disciples were again inside, and Thomas with them. Jesus came, the doors being shut, and stood in the midst, and said,

“Peace to you!” Then He said to Thomas, “Reach your finger here, and look at My hands; and reach your hand here, and put it into My side. Do not be unbelieving, but believing.” And Thomas answered and said to Him, “My Lord and my God!” Jesus said to him, “Thomas, because you have seen Me, you have believe. Blessed are those who have not seen and yet have believed.” John 20:26-29

Even the men who knew Jesus personally while He walked on this earth had a hard time believing that He had rose again.

I happen to live in the Show-Me State. I think a lot of people, regardless of their geographical state of residence, reside in the Show-Me State. We have become so immune to things that if we can’t see it with our own eyes, we won’t believe it.

Thomas had a very unique opportunity in front of him. He had a resurrected Jesus with wounds to touch right in front of Him. Jesus stood in front of him and said, “I’m showing you. However, those who come behind you will be blessed because they believe without the ability to see.”

We may not have a physical version of Jesus standing before us asking us to touch Him and believe, but we do have Jesus calling out to each of us to believe in Him. He offers peace to each of us. He begs us not be unbelieving, but to believe.

It is up to us to decide whether to respond as Thomas did, “My Lord and my God!” or to shake our heads and walk away in disbelief.

Either way, we have made a choice.

Maybe you walked away from Easter wondering if you missed something. Maybe you feel like you were supposed to do something or say something or feel something, but instead you just celebrated a religious holiday.

Jesus is begging you to believe. To look at Him, see the scars, see the price He paid to purchase us, and to believe that He has won the battle and now wants to win your belief.

That feeling you have? The missing piece? It’s really the missing Peace and He’s both the piece and the peace.

Answer His call and He alone will fill the void and answer the questions. You can see Jesus, friend!

photo credit: marwejhttp://www.flickr.com/photos/marwej/8356451505/”>marwej> via photopinhttp://photopin.com”>photopin> cchttp://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/2.0/”>cc>

4 responses to this post.

  1. Well, Amen to that, CarrieAnn! Just dropping by from NaBloPoMo, and have a feeling I'll be back (but not in a bad, stalker-type way!).

    Reply

  2. I believe! I may not have a physical person to touch and see with my eyes. But I know what I have seen happening in my life since the day I gave it to Him. I have NO doubt and pray many others soon find that same believe and grace that I did/do.

    Reply

  3. Susan,

    I blog daily and you are more than welcome to drop by every day of the week! Thank you so much for the encouragement and feedback!

    Reply

  4. Hallelujah! Amen!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

