GIGO or LAEW?


 
I remember being taught the acronym GIGO in my first college word processing class. Garbage In, Garbage Out.

What goes in matters.

Such a simple concept that carries over to so many facets of life.

I’m doing something I’ve never done before. A fast. Specifically a fast based on Daniel’s fast (I didn’t buy or use a book. I’m just linking for your information.) in Daniel chapter 10 and the food choices Daniel set forth in Daniel chapter 1 as a test.

In those days I, Daniel, was mourning three full weeks. I ate no pleasant food, no meat or wine came into my mouth, nor did I anoint myself at all, till three whole weeks were fulfilled. Daniel 10:3

“Please test your servants for ten days, and let them give us vegetables to eat and water to drink.” Daniel 1:12


I’m not going to lie. I wasn’t very optimistic going in to this. I didn’t have high hopes or expectations of actually being able to successfully complete the fast. I’ve never fasted short-term and twenty-one days isn’t short-term in my book.

Add the fact this is my busy and stressful season.

I’m not going to go into specifics at this time about my fasting experience. I still have six days to go.

I do want to talk about what I’ve learned about garbage in, garbage out.

I’ve eaten different food during this period of time. I’ve drank nothing but water.

Guess what?

I haven’t found myself craving coffee and tea 24/7. Only once have I desperately wanted coffee and it wasn’t a stress or tired thing, it was because I smelled it from someone else’s (beloved husband in Sunday School) cup.

I’ve been reading product labels. Did you know that dark red kidney beans packed in water have sugar in them? And some frozen vegetable I looked at had high-fructose corn syrup in it. Why? I had to pass on them. In the past I would have bought them without looking. I won’t anymore.

I do miss dessert. Sometimes a girl just wants some chocolate or ice cream, but I’ve found some great snacks that meet the craving and have kept me clean.

Eating out with the family is ridiculously hard. I had to send a salad back at Applebees yesterday. I ordered it the way I needed it made, but they still put the “bad” stuff on it. My kids were a little embarrassed. I was not. Except for when the brought me a almost $10 salad that had barely a cup of loosely packed lettuce on a plate.

The point of this fast is (was) not to lose weight. However, even with eating more than enough, I am.

The only explanation I can give…I’m not putting any garbage in.

I’ve been eating food for years that was unhealthy and bad for me, and in just a few days I’ve discovered that I can relatively easily give them up.

I have to wonder, just how many other bad things am I clinging to out of habit that I don’t really want or need? The things I read? The music I listen to? The content I watch on tv or movies?

Therefore we also, since we are surrounded by so great a cloud of witnesses, let us lay aside every weight, and the sin which easily ensnares us, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us, Hebrews 12:1


This is one of my favorite scriptures (add verse two in) but usually for a different reason. Today I’m looking at the middle.

…let us lay aside every weight, and the sin which easily ensnares us…

What do I need to lay down this Easter season? Lay down for good. At the foot of the cross and never pick it up again. Not a fast, but a life-changing event.

Friends, Christ invites us to leave our weight and sin at the cross. To LEAVE it there. Not to bring it to Him, hope He picks it up, and then drag it back with us when we walk away.

Do you need to join me? What do you need to lay down this Easter season? Lay it at the foot of the cross, at the Savior’s feet, and you can run with endurance!


photo credit: douneikahttp://www.flickr.com/photos/81918877@N00/7971791440/”>douneika
> via photopinhttp://photopin.com”>photopin> cchttp://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/2.0/”>cc> 

One response to this post.

  1. Huge fan of fasting and watching what I put in. Because of the truth behind GIGO, I have had to take so many things(TV and radio for example) out of my life. I have to be very careful what I fill my mind and body with. Through my submitting to the will of God on these matters, I have been greatly blessed.

    Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

