Equal Opportunity Burden Bearer


 
Have you ever looked at someone and thought about just how “good” of a Christian they were and compared yourself to them? How do you measure up?

Sometimes I find myself looking at those lifetime Christians and always falling short.

You know them.

Born to Christian parents. The only drug problem they ever had was they got drug to church every time the doors were open. Not only do they always have their Bible, they find even those rarely used referenced in nanoseconds, and already have the passage highlighted and annotated before you find the index. They know the terminology. They’ve planned every church event, church dinner, wedding, funeral, surprise party, and the Holy Spirit fills them in prior to callings of other church members, salvation decisions, and just who needs to be appointed to the newly opened ministry position. They pay their bills on time, tithe, and support every mission opportunity that comes through the church doors.

It’s obvious that these Christians are God’s chosen people. They are perfect. They’ve never sinned. Never had a bad thought towards another person. Never crossed any line.

Yeah. I find myself buying into that lie every so often too.

Did you catch it?

Lie. Not fact. Not truth. Lie.


Then Peter opened his mouth, and said, Of a truth I perceive that God is no respecter of persons: But in every nation he that feareth him, and worketh righteousness, is accepted with him. Acts 10:34-35
For there is no partiality with God. For as many as have sinned without law will also perish without law, and as many as have sinned in the law will be judged by the law. Romans 2:11-12
And if ye call on the Father, who without respect of person judgeth according to every man’s work, pass the time of your sojourning here in fear: Forasmuch as ye know that ye were not redeemed with corruptible things as silver and gold, from your vain conversation received by tradition from your fathers; But with the precious blood of Christ, as a lamb without blemish and without spot: 1 Peter 1:17-19

No one is born a Christian.

If someone tells you’ve they’ve been a Christian all their life, well, they don’t understand Christianity then. They may have attended church all of their life, but attending church doesn’t make you a Christian. It simply makes you a faithful church attender. It makes you religious.

I am a religious reader.

I am a religious procrastinator.

I am a religious consumer of ice cream.

To be honest, I am religious about a lot of things. None of those statements make me a Christian. Why would the fact that I attend church religiously?

I am a Christian, a Christ follower, because I admit that I am a sinner, believe that Jesus is the Son of God and that He was born of a virgin, died of His own free will to pay for my sins, and rose again on the third day, and I confess my faith to others with my words and actions.

This is the path to Jesus.

The path is the same for me here in America as it is for any other person in any other nation on any other day of any century.

God is the same today, yesterday, and tomorrow. His love endures forever.

Tonight as I drove home from a ministry meeting I was listening to
Need to Breathe’s Lay ‘Em Down and I was struck by a line of the song.

“All you rich men” was the line. And I got to thinking about “rich men”.

God, I’ve been all of the adjectives in this song until this line. I can’t empathize with this people group. What do they need to lay down? How do they need You the same way I need You?

It wasn’t the parable of the camel and the eye of needle that came to mind. It wasn’t sell all you own and follow me that came to mind.

God, I know Christian people that fall under the covering of this line. They give to You, but they’ve never really needed You like some of the rest of us.

God loves everyone. He doesn’t love any one group of people, Jews, Gentiles, poor, rich, Spanish, Egyptian, male, or female, any more than the other.

And guess what? No one group has the monopoly on needing God more.

We all need Jesus.

We ALL have problems. Mine burdens might be different than yours, but that doesn’t make mine more important than yours. God views them all the same. He cares about all of our burdens the same.

He loves us so much that no matter what the burden He doesn’t want us to bear it. He wants us to trust Him with it, and lay it down.

Casting all your care upon Him, for He cares for you. 1 Peter 5:7


Leave a Reply

