Love in the Lowest Pits

His love never fails ....
 
 

It #rewindWednesday, or is that #Wednesdayrewind?, on the Christian Blogger’s Community on G+. That means we all dig up the link to an “old” post to share with the community in an effort to get to know each other better.

I dug today.

Into memories that I had already poked a sharp stick into last night.

I dug today.

Into a time of questioning and heartache.

I dug today.

Into a time of searching scripture for answers, crying out in prayer for answers, and frustration when things just kept getting tougher.

I dug today.

Into the shame of giving up on God and walking away instead of fighting through tough times.

I dug today.

Into the realization that yet again I’ve come full circle walking around the same exact mountain I’ve faced what seems like a million times before.

And I have to wonder, how can He keep loving me when I deny Him time and time again?

Jesus said to him,
“Assuredly, I say to you that today, even this night, before the rooster crows twice, you will deny Me three times.” Mark 14:30

 

Then he began to curse and swear, saying, “I do not know the Man!” Immediately a rooster crowed. And Peter remembered the word of Jesus who had said to him,

“Before the rooster crows, you will deny Me three times.” So he went out and wept bitterly. Matthew 26:74-75

 

Peter had the advantage of being with Jesus in the flesh. Jesus even told him face to face what was going to happen, Peter vehemently denied that he would EVER do something like that, and then was shocked after he did deny Jesus three times.

I want to judge my failure harshly. I want to condemn myself as useless, worthless, never to be used by God again, but that’s my spirit speaking, not God’s.

Even when I dug myself to the lowest pits, God was there to love me out of it.

God is a God of love. Even when I deny Him, especially when I deny Him, His love is strong enough to carry me through.

My love may fail, but His love? No, His love NEVER fails because He is love!


Leave a Reply

