Toe Touches of Love


My recliner sits right beside the doorway to the kitchen. If you walk into our home, you will walk in between the couch and my husband’s recliner, in front of my recliner and through the kitchen door to the rest of the house. It’s a high traffic area.

I write from the recliner.

I’m not sure when it started, but my husband has this habit of squeezing my toes every time he passes by. It’s endearing. It reminds me that he loves me even when he’s in a hurry and doesn’t have time to sit down and talk. It makes me smile.

I’m not a toucher. I don’t do hugs. I most definitely don’t do kisses. I’m not a touchy, feely kinda person.

I’m a personal space kind of person.

My kids know I love them. But I don’t really hug them. Not typically, at least. I don’t demonstrate my love through physical contact.

Emotional physical contact makes me uncomfortable. Gives me the heebie jeebies. {Picture me shivering awkwardly here.}

My kids know this. Understand this. I don’t think they’re too messed up by my inadequacies.

Except for something’s happened in the past several weeks. It was almost cute the first few times. Almost.

Now, several weeks in, it’s become obnoxious and irritating.

It seems both of my kids have been influenced by my husband’s repeated squeezing of my toes.

My toes are starting to get bruised.

Everyone squeezes my toes now.

Every time they head to the kitchen my toes get squeezed.

Someone needs to use the bathroom? Better squeeze mom’s toes when you walk by.

Thinking you’ll head to bed? Squeeze mom’s toes! Twice!

Did I mention they do it when they come back through too?

Cute, right?

At first it was.

Last week I finally mentioned it after the third person squeezed my toes in less than a five minute period of time.

“You’re going to have to stop squeezing my toes. Now you have the kids doing it. Every time one of you passes by, you squeeze my toes. They’re starting to hurt.”

I’m not sure if they were more offended or more tickled by the whole thing. I don’t think anyone really realized they were all doing it.

Guess what happened once I complained?

They all stopped immediately, right?

Yeah, in what mom’s world?

In the normal mom’s world, including this one, everyone does it more intentionally now and then goes, “Oops! Forgot!”

Uhm huh. Sure they did.

I guess I’ll just keep getting a lot of toe touches of love.


 

 

I’ll be blogging about love and sex this month and need YOUR help. Could you complete this survey and help me out? Responses are anonymous! Thank you! https://docs.google.com/forms/d/1eV-Ph2-lfcUnolFmJMkyv6wo6rPGRxgExY4JX_q-XCM/viewform

6 responses to this post.

  1. my husband pats my head as a way of telling me he loves me. I, for one, would prefer the words, but I take what I can get! Maybe start wearing slippers?

    Live.Lafe.Love.

    Reply

  2. Ooh, that sounds painful. My toes are starting to hurt, and I'm not the one in the particular situation! One thing I will identify is that I don't much emotional physical contact. It's not that it's bad, it's just that I feel awkward because I'm not one to share my feelings in the open. This was quite a good post. Keep it up!

    Reply

  3. In a similar vein my siblings always say, “hello” whenever we see each other. Whenever they enter a room. At first I was annoyed (I JUST saw you!) and then I realized it's their way of saying “I love you”. And now it feels awesome.

    But squeezing toes would drive me batty! I agree with livelafelove: try slippers!

    Reply

  4. I'll take toe squeezing to head pats! LOL! I actually have shoes on 75% of the time…they squeeze through the shoe.

    Reply

  5. Thanks for reading and commenting! I just wasn't raised in a physically demonstrative home. Actually it was the opposite. Physical contact was usually discipline. I think it just carried over. I'm not opposed to others doing it. It just makes me uncomfortable!

    Reply

  6. Yep, hello seventy-three times a day would also drive me batty! As does repeated toe squeezing.

    Typically I'm wearing shoes when this occurs. 😦 Perhaps I could switch to steel toed boots?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

