Speak the Truth in Fact

I love to read.

That’s an understatement.

Characters often become more like friends to me. Real people that I know. Especially characters that I’ve followed through several books in a series.

For Christmas my sister bought me the final book in a series by Karen Kingsbury that I had started reading several years ago. I read the first three after finding them in flea markets and yard sales at a very low cost. Unfortunately, I could never find the fourth one that way.

I read the fourth book,
Sunset, over Christmas break. Great book. I thought it was the end. I was a little puzzled over an unresolved situation between some minor characters, however. Characters that had me a little bit irritated.

In my mind I was already planning conversations to have with these characters.

“Why are you leading him on? You are in love with someone else.”

The book series ended and no relationships went anywhere. So that was that.

Except for the fact that my sister gave me a box set of another Karen Kingsbury series.

I opened the Above the Line Series this weekend during a self-imposed time-out. I grounded myself, you could say. I needed rest to recoup from this gunk. I let my family know I wouldn’t be leaving the house for the weekend.

I read two and a half books out of the four while I rested.

This isn’t a “new” series. It’s a continuation. And those characters are back.

Half way through the first book I’m no longer thinking conversations in my head. I’m yelling, out loud, at fictional characters for being blind, stubborn, hard-headed imbeciles.

Oh, come on. Admit it. You do it too.

How often do we read or watch a show or movie where it’s so obvious what the character should do that we want to reach into the story line and smack them with the truth? How often do we wonder if the author realizes just how dumb their character appears?

Let’s step out of the fiction and into the fact.

Have you ever watched a friend say one thing while doing the direct opposite? What did you think?

Have you ever listened to someone voice a prayer request when you knew the answer had been given to them time and time again?

What about the individual who keeps making the same mistake over and over and over again? And is surprised that they keep getting the same results?

Yeah, I know those situations too.

Several years ago I had a close friend struggling with someone judging (The term “judging” in this context does not mean deeming something right or wrong.) something they had said. They came to me looking for support. It so happened that the person judging them was exactly right. I had some sticky ground to cover here.

I couldn’t tell my friend what they wanted to hear. I would be lying if I did. They needed to hear what had been said to them. Unfortunately, the person who told them was very upfront, blunt and hurt their feelings bad.

It was one of those moments where I would’ve yelled at a fictional character, but I couldn’t to my already hurting friend.

I spoke in a parable. I told a story. It closely related their story. What would you think if A said this, but did this?

It made me sick to my stomach. I was certain I was about to lose a friend.

And the strangest thing happened.

They totally understood my story. Agreed with it. We discussed it. Except they didn’t catch that it was a parallel to their situation.

I wonder how many times people stand around me, beside me, behind me, and shake their heads, “When is she going to get it? The answer has been there this whole time.

I’m praying for truth-speakers in my life. Some parable tellers.

I have some truth-tellers in my life. Unfortunately, I don’t believe they always speak the truth God has laid on their heart to speak, but rather speak whatever pops into their mind to speak. It’s often rude, unnecessary judgment over something trivial, and hurtful. And to top it off, these individuals think they’re being helpful.


Therefore, putting away lying, “Let each one of you speak truth with his neighbor,” for we are members of one another. “Be angry, and do not sin”: do not let the sun go down on your wrath, nor give place to the devil. Let him who stole steal no longer, but rather let him labor, working with his hands what is good, that he may have something to give him who has need. Let no corrupt word proceed out of your mouth, but what is good for necessary edification, that it may impart grace to the hearers. And do not grieve the Holy Spirit of God, by whom you were sealed for the day of redemption. Let all bitterness, wrath, anger, clamor, and evil speaking be put away from you, with all malice. And be kind to one another, tenderhearted, forgiving one another, even as God in Christ forgave you. Ephesians 4:25-32


I want to be plugged in to the Holy Spirit enough to know when I need to speak truth with my neighbor because as the Word says, we’re all members of one another. I need my sisters and brothers in Christ to be on the mark in their walk. It’s my responsibility to hold them accountable in love and edification.

I want others to hold me accountable. When you can clearly see that God has answered that prayer over and over, but I, like the characters I mentioned above, am simply being a blind, stubborn, hard-headed imbecile, PLEASE tell me!

Sometimes we’re so wrapped up in a situation that we can’t see beyond the tissue paper. If you’re outside my wrapping, and have a clear view, please fill me in. I’ll try to do the same for you!

Because when it comes right down to it, I don’t want to spend my whole life waiting on tomorrow…

6 responses to this post.

  1. I don't yell at my book charaters in my head, I tend to yell out loud which makes my girls think that I have lost my mind, lol. I try to be a parable teller when I can and just straight honest when I need and I so wish there were more people that would do that with me. And sometimes I know that I need to change something, but I just can't see how. That's usually when I seek help.

    whatwithwhat.blogspot.com

    Reply

  2. I love Karen Kingsbury's books. I tend to become quite immersed in books too. I have loved books my whole life. So far I have instilled the love of reading in my daughter, now if only I could do the same with my son. He is more into science and math.

    Kathy
    http://gigglingtruckerswife.blogspot.com

    Reply

  3. I have never read those books but have written the name down to look into picking one up. I do argue with characters in my head all the time (even reading electronically!).

    I know there are many times I wish I could bite the bullet and say what needs to be said and not worry about “upsetting” someone etc.

    Reply

  4. Yep, those around me when I read think I've lost my mind. I laugh out loud, cry big ole tears, and talk to the characters.

    Finding people to speak truth for the right reasons is hard. Especially if you're like me and expect everyone to have an ulterior motive. :-/

    Reply

  5. My son loves to read, my daughter reads but much slower and not as much as my son and I.

    Reading and writing are truly my hobbies. I'm not sure what that says about me, but I love my escape to fiction!

    Reply

  6. There are books from these characters before the ones I read. I read the S series and am now reading the T series. I know there is also a R series, but I don't know if there are any more.

    She writes a lot of books. My only complaint is they're expensive. Other people's complaints include the fact that everything always seems to work out for the characters and that they are predictable. I like them.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

