Student, Sensei, Mad Ninja Skills

The Karate Kid
 
 

“No such thing as bad student, only bad teacher. Teacher say, student do.” Miyagi The Karate Kid

I’ve never studied karate, although I wouldn’t mind learning. I’ve also recently heard of a type of self-defense called Krav Maga, and I would be interested in at least observing a class if not participating in one. I’m certain with my lack of coordination it’s all probably out of my reach, but I’d still like to try.

Knowing that I’m uncoordinated, if I were too be unsuccessful at some form of martial arts would it be the teacher’s fault?

Being who I am, I want to say, “No! Absolutely not! If I can’t do it, I just can’t do it.”

But, let me put the shoe on the other foot. We do have two feet, ya know! 😉

I am a teacher. I take my job super serious. As I reminded a student today, I am also super competitive. I like to win.

In my line of work, “winning” means student growth. If my students don’t learn, we didn’t win.

If my students don’t master the concepts I am responsible for teaching them, who is responsible? Them or me?

I believe it is me, the teacher.

So, do I believe that there is no such thing as bad students, only bad teachers?

Well, I believe we all have the ability to choose good or bad. Some students and teachers will choose bad no matter how much good is offered them. I can’t focus on those that continue to choose the bad, though.

I have to focus on continue to offer good. I offer my best every day, and when my best isn’t good enough I go somewhere else and find a better plan to give my students what they need to get to the next level.

Being a good teacher doesn’t mean someone has all the answers or knows it all. It simply means you’re willing to find the answers to the questions you never dreamed your students would ask or wouldn’t know the answer to when they got to you.

So, if you happen to be the unlucky sensei assigned to me when I decide to mark martial arts lessons off my bucket list, well, you better be a good teacher or I might release the mad ninja skills I’ve been harboring for years behind this uncoordinated mask I wear.


One response to this post.

  1. Hahaha! .. Good luck to both you and that teachers! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

