Sit, Quiver, & Be Happy

Yep. That’s my daughter in a magazine! (Bad picture of the magazine taken by me.)
 

I’m a planner. A goal setter. A visionary.

‘Tis who I am. It’s in my genes. Imbedded into my DNA. Part of my genetic make-up. You can’t separate me from my Type-A personality.

I often pause to assess. Where am I? Where did I come from? How did I get from there to here? Where do I go from here?

So, this morning as I was wrapping my mind around the information I needed to present at our Associational VBS Early Bird Clinic today, my mind wandered to my own church family. We’ve been through some stuff in the past few years. Life stuff. Good and bad both.

Life in the church is the same as life in any family. It has its ups and downs. The difference is that we have consistent faith, hope, and love even when the going gets rough.

The time has come, at least in my mind, for the going to get good, however. So, my assessment started.

Where do we go from here? What’s the next step?

This is the kind of stuff I love.

Strategic planning.

Some of you are cringing at the thought, but it excites me, gets my blood flowing, motivates me to get busy and make something happen.

Today something different happened.

Instead of formulating a plan, I got a response from the Eternal Visionary.

What if there isn’t a next step, Carrie? What if it isn’t time for you to make the next move yet? Can you be content to sit and wait on Me?

Not a next step?

He doesn’t want us to move on? To move up? To make a greater difference?

He wants me to sit and wait?

I’m sorry. I don’t understand. I’m confused. You’re the God of all creation, of salvation, of miracles. Your Word says that I’m to be the salt of the earth…a city set on a hill…a missionary…I’ve been commissioned to spread Your Word…to proclaim Your Son through Your Holy Spirit…

Now You’re asking me, no, telling me, to do nothing?

“For My thoughts are not your thoughts, Nor are your ways My ways,” says the Lord. “For as the heavens are higher than the earth, So are My ways higher than your ways, and My thoughts than your thoughts.” Isaiah 55:8-9

I hang my head in shame. I know who You are. Who am I to question You?

You are the Master Planner. The original Type-A personality. I was created in Your own image on purpose for Your purpose.

I want to know Your will for my life and clearly walk in that path. So, why would I fight what I hear You whisper to my soul? It’s this do nothing thing that’s got me questioning.

Surely it’s not ok for me to sit and do nothing?

Unless the Lord builds the house, They labor in vain who build it; Unless the Lord guards the city, The watchman stays awake in vain. It is vain for you to rise up early, To sit up late, To eat the bread of sorrows, For so He gives His beloved sleep. Behold, children are a heritage from the Lord, The fruit of the womb is a reward. Like arrows in the hand of a warrior, So are the children of one’s youth. Happy is the man who has his quiver full of them; They shall not be ashamed, But shall speak with their enemies in the gate. Psalm 127:1-5

 

You can do all the work you want, Carrie, but unless the Lord is in it everything you do is going to fail. So, you can work now with no purpose, or you can wait on the One who gives purpose.

You can work now and give up this time of rest, which you may need for the next step, but your sleeplessness will be for nothing. For you will be guarding things that don’t need guarding. The Lord wants you to rest while He watches over you. He is capable of protecting His creation.

Your children are your reward. Raise them now while they are in your quiver. For once they have been shot, they can not be controlled. Teach them to fly straight while they can be taught. They will fly the way you train them to go.

A full quiver will make you happy. Don’t worry so much about work. Worry about your quiver and being happy. Work will always be there.

Why am I always amazed when I get done typing at just how much God speaks to me as I type my way through our conversations?

Do you see His next step for me? I sure do.

It’s not what I expected when I opened dialogue this morning. It’s not what I thought when I started working through scripture tonight. However, after looking at the scripture, I feel pretty certain that my kids are my work right now. Funny how that sounds like ‘sit and do nothing’ to me, but it isn’t the active service I want to be in the thick of, so to me it is kinda lazy.

I’d rather be in His will than in His way, though! Every day of the week.

So, until the Master tells me to build, I think I’ll just go bow hunting.


Leave a Reply

