When I Grow Up…(Never Gonna Happen)

When I grow up I want to be….

Isn’t it fun to ask kids that question? What about to think about that question for yourself?

I don’t know how I would have answered that question in Kindergarten or first grade. The earliest career choice I remember was around middle school. I decided I wanted to live on a working ranch (cattle and horses) in Texas after passing my bar exam and I would commute in my personal helicopter back and forth to Washington, D.C. where I would work to change the world in politics.

Perhaps I watched a few too many episodes of Dallas as a child, but this was my chosen career path.

I’m not sure I ever really decided to get off that career path, but I sure have taken many, many, many detours.

I have worked as a waitress, typist, sports writer, short order cook, dress shop manager, restaurant manager, secretary, payroll clerk, tax return processor, loan closer assistant, loan closer, assistant buyer for a farm and ranch retailer, substitute teacher, sold Mary Kay, sold Pampered Chef, coached varsity softball, and taught middle school and high school.

Do you want me to list the volunteer jobs I’ve had/have? What about the committees I have served on?

A friend of mine posted this “What your birthday says about your career.” thingy on facebook this afternoon. I had to try it.

So, here’s what I got.

Have you ever seen one of these actually be accurate???




What do you think? Based on what I just told you, fit or not?

Let me make my “when I grow up plans” even a little more crazy for you. I’m still not sure I’ve arrived.

I really want my Ph.D. Really. If anyone would like to make a financial contribution to making this happen, well, I’m to the point I’d be humble enough to say yes. Actually, if anyone knew any “tricks” to paying off the student loans I’m already buried under that would help immensely!

I’d like a degree in counseling, but it requires too many additional hours of undergrad. If God were to open the right doors though, I’d walk right through.

I have too many skeletons to get into politics, but if I could clean out my closets I’d be willing. The process, the stress, the way things can change on a dime, the fact that my time, my opinion, my willingness to stand up and fight for what’s right could make a difference…yeah, that’s something that speaks to me. I’d hate to drag my family through the muck, but I’d love the opportunity to stand up for our Constitution and my Christian beliefs in our government.

If I weren’t Baptist, many would probably already call me a minister.

If I stay in education long-term without deviating, I will eventually teach college level classes. Word.

Um, does that cover most of the things on that list?

So, when I grow up the truth is I want to be about twenty different things!

How about you? What do YOU want to be when you grow up?

4 responses to this post.

  1. I'm still looking for ideas! … sometimes I think I'd like to be a hundred different things.. (;

    Thanks for stopping by and commenting!

    P.S. We have a link up on weekends ( beginning on Thursday and going through to Tuesday ) and we'd be honored if you joined!: http://papaisapreacher.blogspot.com/2013/01/tidbit-thursday_9.html

    Reply

  2. Thank you for reading & commenting!

    I will definitely check out the link up! Thanks for the invite.

    Reply

  3. For our senior yearbook we had to write a prediction for ourselves. Mine was future responsible adult. Uh yeah- nailed that one. To a sickening degree both personally and professionally. Now I'd like to be a little less responsible and enjoy life a bit more when I grow up.

    Reply

  4. I love this question – personally I never want to grow up, well in some ways. The great thing is I did a sport science degree after school and now I train labradors!!! so I always say do somehting you love. My big girl wants to be a vet, my little one a princess LOL why not! Enjoy the dreams!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

