Finding Fortune Without the Cookies

Tonight we went to the local Chinese restaurant for supper. In keeping with tradition, we open fortune cookies and share our fortunes after the meal. This used to be a lot of fun for us. We’d joke and tease based on what silliness we found inside. (We do not “believe” in fortunes. They are simply fun.)

Tonight as I watched Chris & Lily eat, they had buffet and I was waiting for a special order, I told them I still hadn’t blogged today and wasn’t sure what I wanted to write about. Lily suggested emus to which I quickly said, “NO!”

That’s an entirely different story.

I jokingly said, “Maybe I’ll write about dinner at the Chinese restaurant.”

And after reading my fortune, that’s where blogging mind has gone.

“You are very expressive and positive in word, act and feeling.”

I sure don’t feel that way lately. Although most people I know probably would say something like that about me.

I try to shed positive light on even the darkest cases. Don’t get me wrong. If you are continually making the wrong decisions, continually putting yourself in bad situations, and saying you want things to change but doing absolutely nothing to change your situation, I won’t lie to you and tell you everything’s going to work out just fine.

Recently an acquaintance wasn’t happy with some results they were getting. They were discouraged and disappointed. They didn’t even want to tell me what was going on because things weren’t where they wanted them to be. When I finally got an answer, I asked a question that all the sudden showed the individual that there actually was growth and improvement. “You are always so positive! I wish other people would look at things the way you do. I wouldn’t be so stressed.”

Chris read my fortune and nodded as if agreeing. Lily was standing at the end of the table and said, “What? Does it say you’re going to get cancer?”

Silence at our table.

If you’ve read my blog, you know I’ve had a cancer scare. When they went in to biopsy to growth there wasn’t anything there. I’m still very uncomfortable about this. My question all along has been how do we know the growth wasn’t on the OUTSIDE of my bladder. I’ve never gotten an answer.

Too make matter worse, and to explain Lily’s cryptic laughter killing comment, a couple months after my cancer scare I opened a fortune cookie during a family dinner expecting to goof and have a good laugh. I kind of wish I had kept that fortune, but we left the restaurant immediately that night. It was as if that slip of paper had a death sentence on it. It was mine, and it talked about cancer.

We really don’t believe in fortunes, and we look at them as fun. In any culture, is cancer fun? Why in the world would someone write a fortune cookie fortune about any possibility of cancer in someone’s future? Perhaps that one cookie should have been called a misfortune cookie.

Ever since that experience, opening fortune cookies is a little tense. Everyone waits to see what mine says. I had several bad ones in a row and that one was the worst. So, both kids and my husband wait on pins and needles every time to see what my fortune says.

You would think we’d just stop opening them, but it’s like a moth and the flame. I just can’t leave the thing lying on the table.

I suppose the real reason I can still bring myself to snap the cookie in half and slip the paper out is because I know no matter what that paper has to say, it changes nothing. How do I know?


For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, says the Lord, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope. Jeremiah 29:11


God has already written my “fortune”. His thoughts are good. They include a future and hope. I have nothing to be afraid of inside of cookies!

And He said to me,

“My grace is sufficient for you, for My strength is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore most gladly I will boast in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me. Therefore I take pleasure in infirmities, in reproaches, in needs, in persecutions, in distresses, for Christ’s sake. For when I am weak, then I am strong. 2 Corinthians 12:9-10


I am not called to be strong. (That seems so wrong to say.) I am called to rely upon God. He is strong. Sometimes I get so caught up in being “strong” for everyone that I forget that is not a calling placed on my life. I have been called to persevere, but not to be strong.


I will praise You, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made; Marvelous are Your works, And that my soul knows very well. My frame was not hidden from You, When I was made in secret, And skillfully wrought in the lowest parts of the earth. Your eyes saw my substance, being yet unformed. And in Your book they all were written, The days fashioned for me, When as yet there were none of them. How precious also are Your thoughts to me, O God! How great is the sum of them! Psalm 139:14-17


I will praise my Maker who knew me before I was created. He numbered my days before I was fully formed. My life is full of purpose because I am here on purpose. God put me here on this earth on this day for His specific purpose. If that doesn’t put some ENERGY into your life, knowing that no matter how your physical birth came about God planned you, God chose you, God ordained you to be right where you are for such a time as this, then I don’t know what will.

Friend, this promise isn’t just for me. Not one of us is an accident. You were created by my God and Maker to be exactly who He created you to be!!! In this day and age, in this time and place, yes, even in what might seem to be the worst situation you can imagine.

Because when we are weak, He is strong!!! Because He didn’t plan the worst for us, He planned the best for us.

Sometimes my journey, my musings, take me through some dark, dark times. There are days, years even, I find myself saying, “I’m really trying to be positive here, but…”.


“For everyone will be seasoned with fire, and every sacrifice will be seasoned with salt.” Mark 9:49


Everyone will be seasoned by fire. I’m not special in regards to my trials. Everyone will be seasoned.

Every sacrifice (living or dead) will be seasoned with salt. Salt was precious. To God, I am precious. Salt slows decay. That’s my job as a Christian. Salt adds flavor. As Christians, we should add flavor to our communities…and the flavor should taste good!


“You are the salt of the earth; but if the salt loses its flavor, how shall it be seasoned? It is then good for nothing but to be thrown out and trampled underfoot by men. “You are the light of the world. A city that is set on a hill cannot be hidden. Nor do they light a lamp and put it under a basket, but on a lamp stand, and it gives light to all who are in the house. Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works and glorify your Father in heaven. Matthew 5:13-16

If you lose your saltiness you won’t be worth much any more. So remember.


There is a light within you. It cannot be hidden. You can’t hide it. You must carry it out in front of you to light not only your path, but the path of those around you. They need to see what you are doing so they in turn can come to glorify your Father in heaven.

God’s promises don’t come wrapped in cookies written in short sentences on tiny slips of paper. They may be on an app on your phone or tablet, in a thick, leather book with broken binding, or off the tongue of an older relative you typically tune out. God’s promises are recorded in a book called the Holy Bible, and they are true and accurate all day, every day for every one of His children. It isn’t like a fortune, horoscope, or even the Mayan calendar. It’s a love story written just for you.

Today I’m reminded that I need to cling to His expressive and positive words, acts, and feelings and a whole lot less of those the world tries to entice me with.

I’ve already used way too many words today for having nothing to say, but I feel like I’m supposed to say this. So, if you’ve been waiting on a sign here it is. Find a Bible believing and preaching church and GO tomorrow morning. Regardless of the humans in attendance, GOD will meet you there!!!!

2 responses to this post.

  1. My favorite part:
    “I am not called to be strong. (That seems so wrong to say.) I am called to rely upon God. He is strong. Sometimes I get so caught up in being “strong” for everyone that I forget that is not a calling placed on my life. I have been called to persevere, but not to be strong.”

    It does feel wrong to say, but it is the truth. Our human nature is to rely on self, but our spiritual nature must rely on God in all things.

    Very well written post. Especially for someone who had nothing to say! 🙂

    Reply

  2. I got very distracted after I typed that last night. It was a long time before I finished the post.

    Aha moment.

    I looked at my husband and asked, “Are Christians called to be strong? We talk about it an awful lot, but are we actually called to be strong?”

    Amazing how I can read the same words from the same book and get a fresh & timely message every time…

    Thank you for taking the time to read & comment!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

