Totaled Vehicle, Totaled Vessel, Redeemed


Totaled: the cost to fix my van exceeds some percentage of what the insurance deems it as worth so it’s totaled.

We expected it. My van was a 1999 and had approximately 170,000 miles on it. It wasn’t going to take much to “total” it.

Now, to replace it is a whole ‘nother matter. I’m sure that will take much more.

So, I’m thinking about totaled today. What else in my life is totaled? What else will cost more to repair than to replace?

I mean, that is the society we live in, isn’t it? When something doesn’t go the way we want we throw it away and buy something new, something better, something guaranteed to last…something that probably costs a whole lot less than trying to fix what we already had.

I’m reminded of the story I once heard of a man who was stranded alone on a deserted island for many, many years. Eventually, he was discovered and as they left the island the ship captain remarks that he thought the man was alone on the island.

“I was.” replies the man, “Why would you think otherwise?”

“There are three huts.” states the ship captain.

The man points as he speaks, “That one was my house and that one was my church.”

“What was the third hut?”

“Oh, that’s my old church.”

Now, obviously that’s supposed to be funny, but aren’t we all like that?

We are super proud and super involved until things get broken, and then we’re ready to throw them away and move on to the next big thing. When things get broken, we simply toss them and think nothing of it.


The Word which came to Jeremiah from the Lord, saying: “Arise and go down to the potter’s house, and there I will cause you to hear My words.” Then I went down to the potter’s house, and there he was, making something at the wheel. And the vessel that he made of clay was marred in the hand of the potter; so he made it again into another vessel, as it seemed good to the potter to make. Then the word of the Lord came to me, saying: “O house of Israel, can I not do with you as this potter?” says the Lord. “Look, as the clay is in the potter’s hand, so are you in My hand, O house of Israel! The instant I speak concerning a nation and concerning a kingdom, to pluck up, to pull down, and to destroy it, if that nation against whom I have spoken turns from its evil, I will relent of the disaster that I thought to bring upon it. And the instant I speak concerning a nation and concerning a kingdom, to build and to plant it, if it does evil in My sight so that it does not obey My voice, then I will relent concerning the good with which I said I would benefit it. Jeremiah 18:1-10

God is not a God of useless things. He is a God who will correct and chastise. He is a God who will repurpose. He is a God who will break something down and start over again, but He is not a God of waste.

God created me. He knows me more intimately than anyone else ever will. He may correct me, chastise me, break me down and start over, but He will never leave me nor forsake me.

He will take my broken pieces and use them to bring glory to His name. He will use my weakness to demonstrate His strength. He will use my lack of wisdom to confound the wise.

We need to be careful about what we deem totaled. God didn’t see my sin and say, “Totaled. Forget it.”

God saw my sin and said “Redeemed, my beloved.”

In Him we have redemption through His blood, the forgiveness of sins according to grace which He made to abound toward us in all wisdom and prudence, having made known to us the mystery of His will according to His good pleasure which He purposed in Himself, that in the dispensation of the fullness of the times He might gather together in one all things in Christ both which are in heaven and which are on earth–in Him. Ephesians 1:7-10

Christ paid the debt that was way greater than it’s worth. If He could do that for me, I need to be willing to do that with others in my life. Knowing full-well that they’ll never be able to repay the debt…that the damage is way greater than the worth…and that love is still greater than all.

Additional Scriptures for Study:
Isaiah 61 Beauty for Ashes
2 Corinthians 4 Earthen Vessels

photo credit: dave_7http://www.flickr.com/photos/daveseven/5053506216/”>dave_7> via photopinhttp://photopin.com”>photopin> cchttp://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0/”>cc>
photo credit: Aneeye”>http://www.flickr.com/photos/aneeye/3359486375/”>Aneeye | Aneesh Subrahmanian
via photopinhttp://photopin.com”>photopin> cchttp://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/2.0/”>cc>

Leave a Reply

