Moving From Distressed to Destressed After the Roadside Ditch

So, my blog page view counter blew up after last night’s post.

Sorry folks, but I will NOT continue to get in to bad predicaments for your reading enjoyment. J

Some of you who know me well are straight up laughing right now, aren’t you? Ok, so my family has a tendency to find ourselves in “predicaments” relatively frequently.

I’m not going to lie. I really wanted to stay home today. However, I got up and went to school not because I’m the teacher, but because I’m the mom and I needed to set the example.

First, the car doors were froze shut. It took many precious minutes to fix that. Then, the lock on the gate that lets us out of the driveway was frozen shut. Guess where my deicer is? In my van at the wrecker service lot.

Even though we left in plenty of time, we barely made it to school on time for my Monday morning tutoring. (I KNEW I should’ve stayed home.)

As soon as I had my salad half made in the cafeteria at lunch time, fire alarm. Guess who wasn’t wearing a coat in the cafeteria and had to go out of the building? (I KNEW I should’ve stayed home.)

Later that day, I walk to my desk to pick up an example I made, and notice a small gray ‘thing’ sitting on my jet-black desk chair.

I pause my step, but don’t jump, flinch, or shriek. It was a rubber mouse/rat. Someone had put a rubber rodent in the teacher’s chair.


I didn’t demand to know who did it. I didn’t laugh, although on the inside I was getting a good chuckle. Picked up the rodent and dropped into a desk drawer.

This is how my day went. I wanted to destress, but my day kinda seemed like distress…until the rubber rodent.

Destress. Which is entirely different than distress. Distress is how I feel after causing a bad predicament for my family.

Destressed is what I want to feel. Distressed is how I currently feel.

Yesterday morning when I checked facebook, a young friend had just posted about a car accident and how they had lost their only vehicle.

I replied:
“:( Is he ok? That’s most important right now. Praying that God will reveal the plan He already has to you. “

Last night I sent her a message letting her know the words I typed to her that morning were also meant for me.

Distress:

*Feeling guilty for causing an accident.

*Knowing the timing isn’t right for us to replace a vehicle.

*Thinking about doing something now for God, and now feeling like this financial setback will greatly disrupt those thoughts.

*Wondering how we’ll manage an already tight budget with Christmas and now having to replace a vehicle.

*Feeling like it’s all my fault.

It’s fair to say I have some distress resulting for yesterday’s accident. I could sit there. I could wallow. I could bathe in the self-pity. I could. I haven’t yet, and there’s a possibility I could still go there, but for now, I won’t.

Destress:


I will lift up my eyes to the hills–From whence comes my help? My help comes from the Lord, Who made heaven and earth. He will not allow your foot to be moved; He who keeps you will not slumber. Behold, He who keeps Israel shall neither slumber nor sleep. The Lord is your keeper; The Lord is your shade at your right hand. The sun shall not strike you by day, Nor the moon by night. The Lord shall preserve you from all evil; He shall preserve your soul. The Lord shall preserve your going out and your coming in From this time forth, and even forevermore. Psalm 121:1-8

*We were safe. Not only are we ok, but we are FINE. You could almost say we are in the same shape we were before the accident. I don’t believe that our safety was an accident. I believe the Lord protected us and all other people on the highway at that time. He kept us safe from harm. And we will praise Him!

And we know that all things work together for good to those who love God, to those who are called according to His purpose. Romans 8:28
 
*God already knew what was going to happen. Not only did He know, but He has a plan for this event to work WITH the other events in my life for good because I love Him and am called according to His purpose. My finances, or lack thereof, are safe in His hands. He has a plan if I’m willing to cry out and trust Him.

Those things I believe He’s laid on my heart to do? Sure I could say the timing isn’t right and blame this accident, or I could seek Him diligently in prayer. Plead with Him to clearly direct my path. I don’t believe He’ll leave me in the dark for very long.

God has a plan. He holds my life in the palm of His hands. If I didn’t fully understand that before yesterday, I think I might have a better grasp on it today.

God kept both of my children and myself safe in what could have been a very bad situation. Why in the world would I want to be distressed or depressed?

…casting all your care upon Him, for He cares for you. 1 Peter 5:7

If I want to become distressed, all I have to do is give my cares up to Him just like I did control of my car yesterday. He’ll take care of it all because He cares for my family.

And when I get all bogged down in distress, I can always look in my drawer at that rubber rodent and remember that even God has a sense of humor. He must. He made that awful little creature for real! J

Leave a Reply

