Fans, Lights, & Fleshly Freedom

Late summer Chris & I finally bought a ceiling fan to replace the light in our bedroom. We really needed something to help with circulation of air from the living room into our bedroom. So, we bought a ceiling fan.

As summer as turned to fall, the fan has remained on at night, pulling heat rather than the AC into our room. One of us loves the effect, the other, me, finds the moving air cold rather than warming.

A couple weeks ago I awoke, reached up and pulled the chain to turn on the light, and tugged many times on the chain to turn off the fan blades. I hopped out of bed and began lying out clothes for the day. The blades kept turning.

I hopped back onto the bed, and tugged on the chain again, listening carefully to the motor in the fan. No matter how many times I pulled the chain, the hum of the motor remained constant.

Hmmm…someone got tired of me turning the fan off and figured out how to override the chain. Well, I can’t get dressed with the breeze blowing on me. I’ll figure out how to turn it back off.

I slide my hands around the base of the ceiling fan switching the only toggle switch I come to.

Ah ha! Got it!

The blades slow their speed and eventually stop. However, it is a false alarm. As soon as they come to a complete stop, they begin spinning again in the opposite direction.

I give up and go to dress in the bathroom. Angry that “someone” has put me so far behind schedule simply because they were tired of having to turn the fan back on each night.

This one event sets the tone for my day. Frustration sets in, but I seem to forget the issue with the fan as the day goes on.

Fast forward several hours to almost bedtime. I have a headache, and head to bed early to read. I climb into bed and reach up to turn off the light. I tug on the chain and it falls into my hand.

Yes, the light stays on, and the chain detaches and falls into my hand.

I yell for Chris.

“Um, you know how you disabled the ceiling fan? Well, now I’ve disabled the light. So, if I have to freeze, you have to sleep in the light.”

It turns out Chris couldn’t fix the chain for the light, and apparently the fan is just stuck on full blast. Our ceiling fan happens to be a lemon. We love the one in our living room and the one in our old bedroom. All three ceiling fans are the same brand, although the most recent purchase was much cheaper.

We’ll either have to swap this ceiling fan with the one in the old bedroom or buy a new one. The fan itself isn’t the focus of this story. My attitude is.

I had a really bad day that day, and it all started because I convinced myself that the one person who loves me even when I’m crazy intentionally did something just to drive me crazy and cause me to have a bad day. The truth is he did no such thing, but I didn’t find that out until right before I went to bed that night.

I let a broken ceiling fan steal my joy.

How silly (or sad) is that? How often do we get so caught up in things that absolutely do not matter that we miss the things that do matter?

Romans 8:5-6 says: For those who live according to the flesh set their minds on the things of the flesh, but those who live according to the Spirit, the things of the Spirit. For to be carnally minded is death, but to be spiritually minded is life and peace.

My day was not very peaceful. I was too concerned with my flesh…how I felt. I was too cold. I was certain people were trying to irritate me intentionally. I, I, I. My mind was centered on self rather than Spirit. Self brings confusion, conflict, and death. Spirit brings life and peace.

I don’t know about you, but I crave peace not confusion, conflict, and death. I can claim that peace.

Romans 8:14-17 reminds me: For as many as are led by the Spirit of God, these are sons of God. For you did not receive the spirit of bondage again to fear, but you received the Spirit of adoption by whom we cry out, “Abba, Father.” The Spirit Himself bears witness with our spirit that we are children of God, and if children, then heirs–heirs of God and joint heirs with Christ, if indeed we suffer with Him, that we may also be glorified together.

I am a child of the King. I did NOT receive a spirit of fear. I am NOT in bondage to my fear. I am a joint heir with Christ.

Leave a Reply

