Blood on My Hands…Moving from Passive to Active

I believe I referenced Ezekiel 33 in Sunday school a couple weeks ago without knowing the actual reference. I knew it was scriptural. Now, what do I do about it?

This scripture puts the fear of God in me. Literally.

If I saw a dangerous situation and thought I could do something to potentially save someone’s life, I’d do it. Even if it put my personal safety at risk. I would rather attempt to save someone’s life and fail, than do nothing and wonder for the rest of my life.

Why doesn’t that philosophy carry over into eternal life? I just admitted I’d put my own life at risk to save someone else’s life. Surely, I’d do the same for someone’s soul?

But I don’t.

I don’t “warn” people of the coming judgment unless they ask or sit in our Sunday school class, youth group, or church. I figure if they want to know about salvation they’ll come to church and hear.

But Ezekiel 33 shows the holes in my philosophy. My idea won’t hold water. Scripture says if I share and people don’t listen, they’re responsible for their choice. However, if I don’t share, I’m responsible for their eternity…the blood is on my hands as if I killed them.

Wow. Sharing the Good News is not a recommendation…it’s not a calling…it’s not just “works”…it’s commanded and I will be held accountable for it.

Matthew 28:18-20 says: 18And Jesus came and spake unto them, saying, All power is given unto me in heaven and in earth.
19Go ye therefore, and teach all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Ghost:
20Teaching them to observe all things whatsoever I have commanded you: and, lo, I am with you always, even unto the end of the world. Amen.

Very well-known scripture. I wonder how often it is acted on, though? God told Ezekiel that lots of people came to listen to him speak, but they didn’t ask on his sermons. They simply viewed him as entertainment.

Is that how I view church? Entertainment? Do I listen to sermons, but never apply the message to my life?

I won’t lie. I don’t always apply…

Christianity is not a passive, but active. If we aren’t sharing, we aren’t bearing, and if we aren’t bearing we run the risk of being cut off.

Leave a Reply

