Rebel With a Cause

Today I’m thinking about being a rebel. Seriously, rebelling has been a huge concept in my mind today. Do you rebel? What do you rebel against?

I started the day working on See You at the Pole. I’m a youth leader, a sponsor of the Christian club at school, and a teacher. Those lines blur every once in a while. Teachers talking about prayer at school. We did. We’ll continue to. I bet, if you asked us, we’d also tell you we pray at school. We do. We’ll continue to. I’m rebelling.

I had someone ask if I’d heard they’d repealed the section of Senate Bill 54 that I’ve been fighting in court. I responded with, “It goes to the full Senate now. I’m not holding my breath that it’s over.” Later today, I’m not sure it’s over. Yes, it’s going to be reworded, but no, I’m not sure the rewording will protect teacher’s First Amendment Rights. Do I celebrate the re-write? Or continue to fight?

I’m one of the few who were willing to put my name on a lawsuit suing the state over attempting to limit my First Amendment Rights simply because I’m a teacher. I’m standing up. I’m fighting. I’m rebelling.

Today I had a conversation with another youth group leader from another church. I love talking to God’s people, doing God’s work!!! I shared an answer that “good Christian kids” give for not attending an event.

“Only the “bad” kids go to that event. We don’t want to be labeled with them.”

I told the other youth leader that I respond to that with, “I’m pretty sure Jesus didn’t only hang out with well-behaved, upper middle class citizens. I’m pretty sure He went and sought out the worst sinners He could find. And that’s where He hung out. That’s who He spent time with. That’s where He chose to make a difference.”

I believe Jesus was a rebel. Religious leaders were baffled by His choices, by His actions, by His words.

“For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding of the prudent. Where is the wise? Where is the scribe? Where is the disputer of this world? Hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe. For the Jews require a sign, and the Greeks seek after wisdom: But we preach Christ crucified, unto the Jews a stumbling block, and unto the Greeks foolishness; but unto them which are called, both Jews and Greeks, Christ the power of God, and the wisdom of God. Because the foolishness of God is wiser than men; and the weakness of God is stronger than men. For ye see your calling, brethren, how that not many wise men after the flesh, not many mighty, not many noble, are called: But God hath chosen the foolish things of the world to confound the wise; and God hath chosen the weak things of the world to confound the things which are mighty; And base things of the world, and things which are despised, hath god chosen, yea, and things which are not, to bring to nought things that are:” 1 Corinthians 1:18-28

Many smart, educated people have asked me why I do the things I do. I do them because I believe they are the RIGHT thing to do. I do them because I believe God has called me to do them. I do them DESPITE the negative comments, the recommendations that I back off my beliefs to meld into my environments, and the people watching, expecting me to fail. I do them because it’s ok to be a rebel.

I’d like to encourage you, reader, to rebel. Our greatest example, was a rebel, are we above our Savior?

Leave a Reply

