What If to Why Not

Fear. Irrational. Unfounded. Unwarranted. Unwanted.

Standing outside the entrance to a roller coaster. Drops. Speed. Twists & turns. Upside down. Adrenaline rush.

I’m watching…waiting…for my kids to get off.

I’m an onlooker. An outsider. A bystander.

I’m choosing to sit on the sidelines. Something I encourage others not to do.

Get involved…get off the sidelines…do something other than take up space. Things I say to others who aren’t actively involved.

Words that mask fear:

“I just don’t want to.”

“I tried it once. Didn’t like it.”

“I don’t have time.”

“I’m not gifted enough.”

“So & so would do a much better job.”

“No one asked me.”

“I’ve never been into that.”

“God hasn’t called me to do that.”

Wow. How many of those phrases do we utter every day? I watched my kids ride thrill ride after thrill ride for the past 3 days. Each time they’d ask, we’d say no. And I’d stand outside the exit and ponder my fear.

Fear is not of God. Do you know how many times “Fear not” appears in the Bible? Do you see the little kids getting on and off this ride? You are an adult. Why do they have more faith than you? Many of them are afraid. They’re doing it anyway…they’re more afraid of missing the experience than they are of the unknown. What are you afraid of anyway? There’s a greater chance of being injured in an automobile than a roller coaster, and you ride in them multiple times a day.

Self-talk…self-therapy…self-counseling. I do this all day everyday. Today it was on fear, and how stupid my fears really are.
Ok, so maybe you don’t think fear of thrill-rides is all that important. Maybe you feel that is a natural and normal fear. Perhaps even a rational fear. In my world, by my definition, fear is fear, and thrill-rides are not the only fears I have.

What if someone comes along and takes my job? What will I do? Will I still be needed? Will I still feel important?

What if I’m not really doing what God has for me to do? What if I’m doing what I want…not what He wants?

What if God has called me to do those “big” things I dream about, but I don’t try because I’m afraid it’s just me and not Him? What if I miss out on the work He has set aside for me? What if I’m limiting God by limiting myself?

What if I’m doing something someone else is supposed to be doing? Maybe my stepping up is what is holding them back. What if I’m their stumbling block…their excuse not to try?

What if I’m too busy doing routine religious stuff that I’m missing out on the daily ways to minister to others? What if I’m not being the example I should be?

What if I’m not discipling others the way I should be? What if I’m not truly discipling anyone?

Scripture tells us not to worry. Matthew 6:25-34

Do Not Worry
25 “Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothes? 26 Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? 27 Can any one of you by worrying add a single hour to your life[e]?
28 “And why do you worry about clothes? See how the flowers of the field grow. They do not labor or spin. 29 Yet I tell you that not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed like one of these. 30 If that is how God clothes the grass of the field, which is here today and tomorrow is thrown into the fire, will he not much more clothe you—you of little faith? 31 So do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ 32 For the pagans run after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them. 33 But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. 34 Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.

Why do I spend so much time afraid? Is it because I’m human or because I don’t have enough faith? God has already promised to take care of me…He’s done it before and I don’t doubt that He’ll continue. So, why do I let so many experiences pass me by?

I want to let God turn my “What if’s…” into “Why not?’s”

Praying for discernment; giving Him my fears; and holding on for the ride of my life.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Amen! Keep going and have no fear! Trust God and He will see you through! God Bless! New follower:) Please stop by and join our blog community! Looking forward to reading more of your posts! Found you on G+ Christian Bloggers group…God Bless!!!

    Reply

  2. Thank you for dropping by and for following! I super appreciate it! Especially the Biblical encouragement!

    Which blog community are you talking about?

    I love the Christian Bloggers group on G+…welcome!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

