Perseverance Pays

I’ve been reading everyone’s “thankful” posts on facebook and Twitter today, pondering just what it is that I’m thankful for this year. One word has come to mind every time I’ve pondered.

Perseverance.

Philippians 3:14 I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.

My family perseveres despite the roadblocks.

This year Cameron decided to run Cross Country. Now, this may seem like a good decision for an active boy to make. But, Cameron can’t run. Hasn’t ever been able to. I asked lots of questions before we signed up for try-outs.

Are you sure you want to do this? You understand this is distance running, right? You know how we feel about joining teams. If you start something, you finish it. And finally, well, go to try-outs, if you don’t make the team it’s ok.

Cameron went to Cross Country. Every day. Every practice. Even on weekends when needed. He run every day. He competed in meets.

With the exception of the first meet, Cameron pretty much finished last every time. EVERY time.

I don’t know about you, but I would have wanted to quit, to give up, to save myself from embarrassment.

Not Cameron. “I’m not quitting. I’m going to do this.” is what he would say to me when I questioned him daily after practice.

I know it had to be hard. It was hard for me to watch. Who wants their child to be last all the time?

Cameron ran despite his inadequacies.

Chris and I’s anniversary came around shortly after Cross Country ended. I noticed a day or so before it that I hadn’t seen Chris smoke in several days. I remained silent. If he didn’t want to tell me, that was his choice. His way in his time.

We got home from dinner that night. He decided to tell me that he had actually quit smoking on October 1st, 18 days ago. That in itself is amazing. But it’s not all.

He told me the story of Cameron going to Cross Country practice every day. Of Cameron finishing last over and over. Of the fact that even though Cameron will tell you he hates running, he went and he didn’t quit. According to Chris, if Cameron could do something he dislikes so much with such dedication, surely as a father he could do the same and quit smoking.

Incredible. My twelve year old son persevered and inspired someone else to do something healthy also.

Lily is much the same. She competes gymnastics. She’s not great. She finishes in the last few more often than not. I’ve tried to encourage her to find something that she can dedicate that much time to that she actually has some natural talent at. Right now, she loves gymnastics. She doesn’t care if she’s first or last, she just wants to be part of the team. Scores don’t define her. Being present does.

Perseverance is prevalent in my family. I am thankful that my family can see past the trappings of “winners” and “being the best” to being dedicated and determined.

I am truly believing for my family that Isaiah 40:31 is true. But they that wait upon the LORD shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings as eagles; they shall run, and not be weary; and they shall walk, and not faint.

One response to this post.

  1. Fantastic post, thanks for sharing. I read this with lots of emotions! Really good words!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

