To Judge or Not to Judge

Here’s how exciting my Friday nights are: I just spent the last hour reading all the posts on my blog. Yep. Blogging in review.

Oh. My.

Well, apparently I write much more when things are bad than I do good. Shame on me. My life is WAY more good than bad, and it is awful the way I’ve dwelt and camped in my sorrow.

I hope to change that. To use my words to encourage and build up, rather than to soothe my own ego. I write as therapy, however, and therapy isn’t always sought when things are good.

Matthew 7:1-5 Judge not, that ye be not judged. For with what judgment ye judge, ye shall be judged: and with what measure ye mete, it shall be measured to you again. And why beholdest thou the mote that is in thy brother’s eye, but consider not the beam that is in thine own eye? Or how wilt thou say to they brother, “let me pull out the mote out of thine eye; and behold a beam is in thine own eye? Thou hypocrite, first cast the beam out of thine own eye; and then thou shalt see clearly to cast out the mote out of thy brother’s eye.

In society today, everyone is judged. Granted, we are judged based on the perspectives and beliefs of the person looking at us, but judged none-the-less.

Judging can be a sticky situation for Christians. We know that sin is wrong. We can often identify and label various sins. However, we seem to have a point system for sins.

For example, murder is bad. It is a 10 on the scale. Telling a white lie to spare someone’s feelings, well, not so bad. It gets a 1 on the scare. Depending on our affiliations with denominations and doctrines we take various stands on different types of sin.

But what happened to sin is sin regardless of the effect it has on others or society? I have found myself frustrated with others judging people lately. I don’t understand why it’s ok to persecute people living in one type of sin simply because we personally think it’s awful.

Sin is sin. There aren’t degrees of sin.

James 2:10 For whosoever shall keep the whole law, and yet offend in one point, he is guilty of all.

Sin is sin. If you commit a little sin, you have as good as committed murder.

I am human. I sin. I cannot regard my sin as less sinful as someone else’s sin. It’s wrong. It isn’t scriptural.
So, here lies my dilemma. I’m tired of being considered argumentative when I remind someone that they can’t elevate a particular sin they detest over any other sin mentioned in the Bible.

They often come back with, “The Bible says it’s wrong. There’s no reason to accept it at all.”

The Bible says gossip is wrong. Should we ostracize everyone we know who has ever been guilty of gossip? I’m pretty sure that one sin just did the majority of us in.

We’ve all heard hate the sin love the sinner. Often a “sinner” won’t let you close enough to love them if they know you despise them for the choices they’ve made. There’s no love in hate. There’s only hate.

How do you draw the line between calling sin for what it is and not judging?

Leave a Reply

