Rainy Days & Snoring Babes

Once again we woke up to a rainy day…insert childhood tune “Rain, rain go away, come again another day…

Cam’s best friend moved away a year ago. They came down to visit for the weekend and stopped by here around 8 last night. Ryan stayed the night, and I believe the kids stayed up most of the night. I am typing to the sound of Cam and Lily snoring in the living room. One buried under the full comforter in the recliner beside me and one stretched out under a St. Louis Cardinal’s throw on a couch recliner.

What a way to spend a Saturday!

I just finished reading King of the Mild Frontier: An Ill-Advised Autobiography by Chris Crutcher. I’m not sure I’ve ever read an entire autobiography…especially not for fun! This one was very humorous with many important life lessons. (For those of you who will look up this author, yes, I am aware that he is on the banned book list. Yes, I am aware that he is NOT Christian. Please know that if you read this book you may be offended.) However, despite the man’s religious views, I find his writing to be HONEST. The truth no matter how ugly…not life glossed over by common platitudes.

I suppose I feel like much of life (mine and everyone else’s) gets “glossed over”. Why don’t (can’t) we tell it like it is? Why is the truth ok as long as we don’t talk about it? Why is it ok for people’s hearts to be crushed or breaking and yet put on a smile when asked how they are and say “Great!”?

I love (prepare to be shocked) the genre of romance. I am the biggest sap there is. My idea of fun is reading a book that I know is going to turn up “happy” and bawling my eyes out as the story unfolds. I believe that love is what makes the world go round. I believe that the love of Christ is healing, freeing, and miraculous.

I also know that life is not always (actually seldom to never) as fulfilling as the novels I spend hours reading. My love stories don’t always end up working out…I don’t always get over my issues to develop into a stronger character. My greatest hurts don’t always heal to reveal my greater purpose. Life is messy. It throws me a change-up when I was expecting a breaking ball. It reminds me that as soon as one storm passes another is brewing behind it.

I have to wonder…what if we all started telling the truth? If we stopped putting on the pretenses we expect of ourselves and each other?

Hmm….so not what I was “intending” to write about today…

What do you think? Do we “gloss-over” life too much or is it how we find happiness?

Leave a Reply

