Letting Go

Something exciting happened to me this evening while I was trying on clothes. I actually fit into a pants size that I haven’t worn since before I had Cameron. Cameron is 11 1/2. For those of you who have been reading my blogs for the past year, you know I have been working to lose weight. I’m not positive of my total loss (can’t remember where I started exactly), but I’m pretty certain I’ve lost 30-40 pounds. I have gone down 5 pant sizes since August 2008.

Now, every couple months I seem to find that my clothes have gotten too big. Fall off big in many cases, and I really can’t afford to keep buying a new wardrobe. I am amassing quite a collection of clothing in various sizes.

Upon looking at my clothes hanging in our laundry room, Chris asked, “Are you ready to get rid of some of these? They don’t fit.”

“No, I’m not getting rid of them! I don’t have anything else to wear, and I might need them again.”

“Sounds like an excuse to fill them up again.” Chris said, “Get rid of the clothes you’ve shrunk out of.”

I’m still holding on to those clothes, and it looks like I might be ready to go down another size again. Why won’t I get rid of my too big clothes? I can’t wear them. They aren’t benefitting me in any way, shape, or form, and yet I cling to them.

I wonder how many other things I’m holding onto that I’ve outgrown?

1 Corinthians 13:10-12 (New King James Version)
10 But when that which is perfect has come, then that which is in part will be done away.
11 When I was a child, I spoke as a child, I understood as a child, I thought as a child; but when I became a man, I put away childish things. 12 For now we see in a mirror, dimly, but then face to face. Now I know in part, but then I shall know just as I also am known.

There come many times in life when we “grow up”. At each of those transitions, there are things that we should put away. Now, put away doesn’t really mean to stash it in the back of your closet in case you need it again. It doesn’t mean to hide it from sight while knowing that it is there at your reach.

It means to get rid of it and never look back. Repent…admit it, get rid of it, turn and walk in the opposite direction without looking back.

I need to “put away” my too big clothes. There are deeper things, unspiritual things, that I need to “put away” too. May this scripture inspire us to recognize the “habits” we have outgrown and prompt us to put them away for good.

Leave a Reply

